Australian Aboriginal XI cricket squads for 2018 UK Tour announced

Officials pose at a ceremony honouring Australia's ninteenth century indigenous cricket team in Melbourne

Squads for the Australian Aboriginal Tour of the UK in 2018 have been announced by Cricket Australia, as well as the schedule and community activities.

The men’s and women’s squads tour the UK in June, playing under the banner of the ‘2018 Aboriginal XI.’

 It commemorates 150 years since the Aboriginal cricket team became the first team from Australia to tour.

 Ashleigh Gardner and Dan Christian captain the sides and will play against Surrey, Sussex, Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire and the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

Some of the Grounds for the matches against Surrey, Sussex and Derbyshire will be the same as those used in 1868.

 Aboriginal XI Ashleigh Gardner, captain of the women’s team said:

“150 years on to be captain is such an honour, and getting the opportunity to lead the girls in a country I have recently played in hopefully I can pass on some of the things I learnt when I was over there.

 “Being able to represent my culture is really special and all the girls are really excited to do that too. They all understand this is a big moment in their careers and for me to be able to captain a team that is inexperienced in terms of international tours but one that is ready for that competition is a big moment in my career as well.”

2018 Aboriginal XI – Women’s Squad

Ashleigh Gardner (C), Jemma Astley, Dharmini Chauhan, Christina Coulson, Hannah Darlington, Sara Darney, Zoe Fleming, Haylee Hoffmeister, Emma Manix-Geeves, Sally Moylan, Natalie Plane, Roxanne Van Veen, Naomi Woods

 One of the Aboriginal XI fast bowlers, Scott Boland commented:

 “I look forward to learning more about Indigenous culture and more about what happened during the 1868 tour.

 “Going over there with my brother (also in the team) will be great as we can learn a lot together about the story from some of the older guys and some of the coaches as well.”

2018 Aboriginal XI - Men's Squad

Dan Christian (C), Nick Boland, Scott Boland, Brendan Doggett, Sam Doggett, Damon Egan, Tyran Liddiard, Jonte Pattison, Nathan Price, D’Arcy Short, Brendan Smith, Rex Strickland, Dane Ugle

They will also visit an exhibition at the MCC Museum at Lords that covers  the 1868 tour and the Royal Albert Memorial Museum (RAMM) and Exeter is lending Aboriginal artefacts, newly identified from the 1868 cricket tour to the UK..

 Cricket Australia National Talent Manager Greg Chappell said:

“We have assembled two strong squads for this tour that include four players who currently or have previously represented Australia – Christian, Gardner, D’Arcy Short and Scott Boland - and a further six players on WBBL, BBL or State contracts last season.


“Our women’s team has a strong look to the future with an average age of just over 20 while our men have a great combination of youth and experience. I’m confident both squads will perform well against what will be some tough English opposition.”

The tour is supported by the Commonwealth Bank who are the Principal Partner of Cricket Australia’s - A Sport for All program.

 The official hashtag of the 2018 Aboriginal XI tour to the UK is #walkaboutwickets



Aboriginal XI Men

5th June – Aboriginal XI v Marylebone CC @ Arundel Castle

7th June – Aboriginal XI v Surrey @ The Kia Oval

8th June – Aboriginal XI v Sussex @ The First Central County Ground

10th June – Aboriginal XI v Derbyshire @ 3aaa County Ground

12th June – Aboriginal XI v Nottinghamshire @ Loughborough


Aboriginal XI Women

7th June – Aboriginal XI v Surrey @ The Kia Oval

8th June – Aboriginal XI v Sussex @ The First Central County Ground

10th June – Aboriginal XI v National Cricket Conference @ 3aaa County Ground

12th June – Aboriginal XI v ECB Academy @ Loughborough

 Fast Facts

54,346 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders participated in cricket in the 2016-17 cricket season. A 47% increase on 2015-16, and an increase of over 45,000 participants since 2013-14.

There are 6 Indigenous State contracted players

There are 7 Indigenous BBL and WBBL contracted players


© Cricket World 2018