< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australian men's contracted players 2022-23

Australian men's contracted players 2022-23
Australian men's contracted players 2022-23

Cricket Australia has announced a list of 20 men’s players to be offered national contracts for 2022-23.

The contracts are based on player performances over the past 12 months and those who the National Selection Panel believe will represent Australian teams throughout the coming year.

The MOU between Cricket Australia and the Australian Cricketer’s Association states that between 17 and 20 male players are eligible to be contracted at the start of each contracting period.

Cricket Australia contracted men’s players 2022-23:

  • Ashton Agar (WA/University Cricket Club)
  • Scott Boland (VIC/Frankston Peninsula Cricket Club)
  • Alex Carey (SA/Glenelg Cricket Club)
  • Pat Cummins (NSW/Penrith Cricket Club)
  • Aaron Finch (VIC/Geelong Cricket Club)
  • Cameron Green (WA/Subiaco-Floreat Cricket Club)
  • Josh Hazlewood (NSW/St George Cricket Club)
  • Travis Head (SA/Tea Tree Gully Cricket Club)
  • Josh Inglis (WA/Joondalup Cricket Club)
  • Usman Khawaja (QLD/Valley District Cricket Club)
  • Marnus Labuschagne (QLD/Redlands Cricket Club)
  • Nathan Lyon (NSW/Northern District Cricket Club)
  • Mitchell Marsh (WA/Fremantle Cricket Club)
  • Glenn Maxwell (VIC/Fitzroy Doncaster Cricket Club)
  • Steve Smith (NSW/Sutherland Cricket Club)
  • Mitchell Starc (NSW/Manly Warringah Cricket Club)
  • Marcus Stoinis (WA/Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club)
  • Mitchell Swepson (QLD/Sandgate-Redcliffe District Cricket Club)
  • David Warner (NSW/Randwick Petersham Cricket Club)
  • Adam Zampa (NSW/Sutherland Cricket Club)

Josh Inglis is new to the list for 2022-23 while Mitch Marsh, Scott Boland, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marcus Stoinis and Mitchell Swepson have retained their place on the list having earned a CA contract upgrade in 2021-22.

Men’s Chair of National Selectors George Bailey said: “It has been a terrific 12 months highlighted by the successes of the T20 World Cup, the Ashes and the Pakistan Test series.

“The performances by Mitch Marsh, Usman, Travis, Scott, Marcus and Mitch Swepson were pivotal in helping secure those successes and we are pleased they have retained their contracts for the upcoming year after being rewarded with upgrades throughout the past season.

“We believe this group provide us great coverage and versatility across all formats while others, as we saw in the past year, will continue to get opportunities to play a big part.

“With a tour of Sri Lanka, a home World Cup, home summer and tour of India there is an enormous amount of cricket to be played where the strength of our squads and depth will be challenged.

“To contract just 20 players was challenging given the number of key series and the cycle of upcoming T20 and one-day World Cups, all of which will require varying skill sets and combinations.”

Fast bowler James Pattinson is retired from international cricket while former Test captain Tim Paine remains on an indefinite break from the game. Other contracted players or those upgraded from last year who missed out include Marcus Harris, Moises Henriques, Ben McDermott, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Ashton Turner and Matthew Wade.

Players not awarded contracts as part of the initial squad of 20 can earn upgrades throughout the year by accruing 12 upgrade points. Players receive five points for a Test match, two for a One-Day International and one for a T20 International.

Official Cricket Australia Website