Bailey To Captain Australia A Against New Zealand

Bailey To Captain Australia A Against New Zealand
Bailey To Captain Australia A Against New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

Tasmanian batsman George Bailey will captain the Australia 'A' team that has been selected to take on the touring New Zealanders from 24th November.

David Warner has been named as Bailey's vice-captain and the squad includes three players - Michael Beer, Ben Hilfenhaus and Steve Smith - who have Test experience.

The match is New Zealand's only game prior to a two-Test series that gets underway in Brisbane on 1st December and will be Bailey's sixth first-class appearance for the A team, for whom he averages 57.16.

"The National Selection Panel has chosen an exciting group of players in this 12-man Australia A squad who we believe have considerable potential and are therefore having opportunity invested in them," new selection panel chairman John Inverarity said.

"There is obviously a great deal of interest in each of these players in terms of higher honors but firstly we look forward to this Australia A team being well led by Tasmanian George Bailey and giving a strong overall performance against the New Zealanders next week.

"Ryan Harris' current hip injury means the fast bowlers selected in this squad will be carefully monitored with six Test matches in succession throughout the Australian summer in mind."

The game is to be played at the Allan Border field in Brisbane.

Australia A: George Bailey (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), Michael Beer, Tom Cooper, Ed Cowan, Ben Cutting, Ben Hilfenhaus, Nic Maddinson, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade

© Cricket World 2011