< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ban v India 1st ODI: Miraz helps snatch win from the jaws of defeat

Bangladesh secured a thrilling one wicket win over India
Bangladesh secured a thrilling one wicket win over India

Bangladesh pulled off a nail-biting one-wicket win over India in the opening match at the Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Sunday to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match ODI series.

Asked to bat, India was bowled out for 186 in 41.2 overs and in response Bangladesh chased down the target in 46 overs to finish on 187 for nine.

India got off to a sedate start as they lost their opener Shikhar Dhawan early. Then there was a collapse as they lost captain Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in quick succession. Soon after there was a 43 run stand between Shreyas Iyer and vice-captain KL Rahul. Then Washington Sundar teamed up with Rahul to add 60 runs for the fifth wicket. But after Sundar fell, there was a collapse as India lost four wickets for just six runs. Towards the end Rahul tried to take maximum strike but fell for 73 off 70 balls with five boundaries and five sixes. In the end India was bowled out for 186 in 41.2 overs. For Bangladesh the two best bowlers were Shakib Al Hasan (5-36) and Ebadoty Hossain (4-47).

In their response Bangladesh lost Najmul Hossain Shanto off the first ball. There was a crucial 48 run third wicket stand between captain Litton Das and Shakib Al Hasan which revived the chase. Thereafter, India managed to trigger a collapse as they went from being 128 for four to 136 for nine as they lost five wickets for just eight runs. India appeared to have sealed the contest. But Mehidy Hasan Miraz did not give up. He survived a dropped chance thanks to the largesse of stand-in wicket-keeper Rahul. Towards the end Miraz added 51 runs for the tenth wicket with Mustafizur Rahman as they snatched win from the jaws of defeat. Bangladesh finished on 187 for nine in 46 overs. For India the best bowlers were Mohammed Siraj (3-32), Kuldeep Sen (2-37) and Washington Sundar (2-17).

Match Summary
India: 186 (41.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Shikhar Dhawan-5.2 ov), 2-48 (Rohit Sharma-10.2 ov), 3-49 (Virat Kohli-10.4 ov), 4-92 (Shreyas Iyer-19.6 ov), 5-152 (Washington Sundar-32.3 ov), 6-153 (Shahbaz Ahmed-33.2 ov), 7-156 (Shardul Thakur-34.1 ov), 8-156 (Deepak Chahar-34.4 ov), 9-178 (KL Rahul-39.5 ov), 10-186 (Mohammed Siraj-41.2 ov)

Bangladesh: 187-9 (46)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Najmul Hossain Shanto-0.1 ov), 2-26 (Anamul Haque-9.1 ov), 3-74 (Litton Das-19.2 ov), 4-95 (Shakib Al Hasan-23.3 ov), 5-128 (Mahmudullah-34.6 ov), 6-128 (Mushfiqur Rahim-35.1 ov), 7-134 (Afif Hossain-38.2 ov), 8-135 (Ebadot Hossain-38.5 ov), 9-136 (Hasan Mahmud-39.3 ov)


Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Sen

Bangladesh: Litton Das (captain), Anamul Haque, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Ebadot Hossain

Match Details
Toss: Bangladesh, elected to field
Venue: Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur
Start time: 0630 hrs GMT
Match officials: Michael Gough, Tanvir Ahmed (On-field Umpires); Sharfuddoula (TV Umpire); Gazi Sohel (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022