< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ban v India 1st Test Day 1: Iyer, Pujara extricate India out of trouble

India's Cheteshwar Pujara
India's Cheteshwar Pujara

India took control of the opening day of the first Test against Bangladesh with a strong finish at the end of the day's play at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram on Wednesday.

After opting to bat, India finished the day on 278 for six at the end of 90 overs.

Bangladesh v India 1st Test

India started off confidently as their openers captain KL Rahul and Shubman Gill added 41 for the opening wicket. But after Gill fell to a poor shot, there was a mini collapse. Rahul fell soon after and batting mainstay Virat Kohli fell for just one. India was struggling at 48 for three. Then there was a brief revival as Cheteshwar Pujara and Rishabh Pant teamed up to add 64 for the fourth wicket. Pant fell soon after lunch for 46 (45b, 6x4, 2x6).

Thereafter the Indian innings was managed by a 149 run fifth wicket stand between Pujara and Shreyas Iyer. This pair pulled India out of trouble as they batted resolutely. Iyer survived a dropped chance at deep mid-wicket and carried his bat through. Towards the end of the day Pujara fell finally for 90 off 203 balls with 11 boundaries. Iyer finished the day on a strong unbeaten 82 off 169 balls with 10 boundaries. But India suffered a setback as they lost Axar Patel off the last ball of the day for 13.
India finished on 278 for six. For Bangladesh the best bowler was Taijul Islam (3-84).

Match Summary
India: 278-6 (90)
Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Shubman Gill-13.2 ov), 2-45 (KL Rahul-18.1 ov), 3-48 (Virat Kohli-19.3 ov), 4-112 (Rishabh Pant-31.4 ov), 5-261 (Cheteshwar Pujara-84.2 ov), 6-278 (Axar Patel-89.6 ov)


Playing XI
India: KL Rahul (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rishbah Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Bangladesh: Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Yasir Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Litton Das, Nurul Hasan (wicket-keeper), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram
Start time: 0330 hrs GMT
Match details: Sharfuddoula, Michael Gough (On-field Umpires); Chris Brown (TV Umpire); Gazi Sohel (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022