< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ban v India 1st Test Day 3: Gill, Pujara steer India as Bangladesh chase history

India's Shubman Gill reacts after scoring his century
India's Shubman Gill reacts after scoring his century

India set an imposing target of 513 for Bangladesh to win the first Test as the visitors gained further control of the game at the end of the third day at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Friday.

After resuming at their overnight score of 133 or eight, Bangladesh was bowled out for 150. In their second innings India declared at 258 for two. Bangladesh ended the day at 42 for no loss, needing a further 471 runs over two remaining days.

 Earlier, Bangladesh lost their remaining two wickets cheaply as overnight batters Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Ebadot Hossain fell swiftly. Bangladesh was shot out for 150 in 55.5 overs. For India the two best bowlers were Kuldeep Yadav (5-40) and Mohammed Siraj (3-20).

India opted not to enforce the follow-on.

India got off to a confident start as captain KL Rahul and Shubman Gill added 70 for the opening wicket. Gill then teamed up with veteran Cheteshwar Pujara to add 113 runs for the second wicket. Gill finally got to his maiden Test century. He finished on 110 off 152 balls with 10 boundaries and three sixes. Thereafter, Pujara continued the onslaught as he added a further 75 runs for the third wicket with Virat Kohli. Pujara finally got to his Test century after 1443 days as he ended unbeaten on 102 off 130 balls with 13 boundaries. India finally declared on 258 for two in 61.4 overs with an overall lead of 512.

Set a target of 513, Bangladesh finished on 42 for no loss when stumps were drawn.

Match Summary
India (1st Innings): 404 (133.5)

Bangladesh (1st Innings): 150 (55.5)
Fall of wickets: 9-144 (Ebadot Hossain-48.5 ov), 10-150 (Mehidy Hasan Miraz-55.5 ov)

India (2nd Innings): 258-2 declared (61.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-70 (KL Rahul-22.4 ov), 2-183 (Shubman Gill-49.3 ov)

Bangladesh (2nd Innings): 42-0 (12)


Playing XI
India: KL Rahul (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rishbah Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Bangladesh: Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Yasir Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Litton Das, Nurul Hasan (wicket-keeper), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram
Start time: 0330 hrs GMT
Officials details: Sharfuddoula, Michael Gough (On-field Umpires); Chris Brown (TV Umpire); Gazi Sohel (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022