< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ban v India 1st Test Day 4: India chip away at Bangladesh resistance

Bangladesh vs India
Bangladesh vs India

India chipped away at Bangladesh's resistance on the fourth day of the first Test at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Saturday. India now needs four more wickets to clinch a lead in the two-Test series.

Resuming at their overnight score of 42 for no loss, Bangladesh finished the fourth day on 272 for six in 102 overs.

 Earlier, the openers Najmul Hossain Shanto and Zakir Hasan put on an unbroken 124 for the first wicket. They carried on without being separated during the opening session. Right after lunch, Shanto was the first to fall for 67 off 156 balls with seven boundaries. Thereafter, the innings slowed down as Bangladesh lost a few more wickets.

Litton Das and Hasan added 42 runs for the third wicket. Thereafter, debutant Hasan fell for his maiden Test century off 224 balls with 13 boundaries and a six. Towards the end of the day, Bangladesh lost two wickets in the 88th over. Captain Shakib Al Hasan put on an unbroken 34 runs for the seventh wicket with Mehidy Hasan Miraz. At the end of the day Bangladesh finished on 272 for six in their 102 overs.

For India the best bowler was Axar Patel (3-50).

Match Summary
India (1st Innings): 404 (133.5)
Bangladesh (1st Innings): 150 (55.5)
India (2nd Innings): 258-2 declared (61.4)

Bangladesh (2nd Innings): 272-6 (102)
Fall of wickets: 1-124 (Najmul Hossain Shanto-46.1 ov), 2-131 (Yasir Ali-49.6 ov), 3-173 (Litton Das-68.4 ov), 4-208 (Zakir Hasan-78.2 ov), 5-234 (Mushfiqur Rahim-87.1 ov), 6-238 (Nurul Hasan-87.6 ov)


Playing XI
India: KL Rahul (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rishbah Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Bangladesh: Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Yasir Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Litton Das, Nurul Hasan (wicket-keeper), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram
Start time: 0330 hrs GMT
Officials details: Sharfuddoula, Michael Gough (On-field Umpires); Chris Brown (TV Umpire); Gazi Sohel (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022