< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ban v India 2nd ODI: Bangladesh win yet another ODI series against India, at home

Bangladesh win by 5 runs
Bangladesh win by 5 runs

Bangladesh claimed its second successive ODI series win over India at home in seven years as they beat the visitors by a narrow five-run margin at the Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium on Wednesday.

After opting to bat, Bangladesh posted 271 for seven in their 50 overs and in response India finished on 266 for nine in 50 overs.

Bangladesh lost wickets at regular intervals. They were at 66 for three and then they lost three wickets in quick succession to struggle at 69 for six. Then Bangladesh innings was revived by a fine 148 run seventh wicket partnership between Mahmudullah and Mehidy Hasan Miraz.

Towards the end Mahmudullah fell for 77 off 96 balls with seven boundaries. Miraz got to his century off the final ball of the innings to finish on an unbeaten 100 off 83 balls with eight boundaries and four sixes. Bangladesh ended on 271 for seven in their 50 overs. For India the best bowlers were Washington Sundar (3-37), Umran Malik (3-37) and Mohammed Siraj (2-73).

India lost their top-order cheaply yet again. India was struggling at 39 for three in 10 overs. There was a brief stand for the fourth wicket between KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer worth 26 runs. Then Iyer added 107 runs for the fifth wicket with Axar Patel. Together the pair revived India's hopes, but both fell in quick succession. Then India lost few more wickets as the team struggled at 213 for eight in 45.1 overs.

That's when an injured skipper Rohit Sharma with a broken thumb as he walked in to bat at number nine. Sharma batted with gay abandon as he bravely fought for India. But it was not enough as India finished five runs short at 266 for nine in 50 overs. For Bangladesh the best bowlers were Ebadot Hossain (3-45), Shakib Al Hasan (2-39) and Miraz (2-46).

Match Summary
Bangladesh: 271-7 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Anamul Haque-1.5 ov), 2-39 (Litton Das-9.2 ov), 3-52 (Najmul Hossain Shanto-13.1 ov), 4-66 (Shakib Al Hasan-16.6 ov), 5-69 (Mushfiqur Rahim-18.5 ov), 6-69 (Afif Hossain-18.6 ov), 7-217 (Mahmudullah-46.1 ov)

India: 266-9 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Virat Kohli-1.5 ov), 2-13 (Shikhar Dhawan-2.5 ov), 3-39 (Washington Sundar-9.6 ov), 4-65 (KL Rahul-18.3 ov), 5-172 (Shreyas Iyer-34.6 ov), 6-189 (Axar Patel-38.2 ov), 7-207 (Shardul Thakur-42.4 ov), 8-213 (Deepak Chahar-45.1 ov), 9-252 (Mohammed Siraj-48.6 ov)


Playing XI
Bangladesh: Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Liton Das (captain), Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman (wicket-keeper), Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mushfiqur Rahim

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik

Match Details
Toss: Bangladesh, elected to bat
Venue: Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
Start time: 0600 hrs GMT
Match officials: Masudur Rahman, Michael Gough (On-Field Umpires); Gazi Sohel (TV Umpire); Tanvir Ahmed (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022