< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ban v India 3rd ODI: Consolation win for India thanks to Ishan's double

India's Ishan Kishan
India's Ishan Kishan (210)

India got a consolation win in the third and final ODI against Bangladesh as they pulled one back finally to end the series 1-2. India beat Bangladesh by a massive 227 runs in the final game on Saturday at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium at Chattogram.

Asked to bat, India posted a massive 409 for eight in their 50 overs and in response Bangladesh was bowled out for 182 in 34 overs.

Earlier, India lost Shikhar Dhawan early. Then Ishan Kishan and Virat Kohli teamed up to add 290 runs for the second wicket. This was a massive stand as the Indian team piled on the runs in double quick team. During this partnership, Kishan posted his maiden double hundred and became the fourth Indian to achieve this feat. He was the youngest reach to this landmark. Kishan finished on 210 off 131 balls with 24 boundaries and 10 sixes. Then Kohli took charge as he reached his 72nd international hundred to finish on 113 off 91 balls with 11 boundaries and two sixes. India did lose a few wickets later, but thanks to Washington Sundar and Axar Patel they reached 400. In the end India finished on 409 for eight in their 50 overs. For Bangladesh the successful bowlers were Taskin Ahmed (2-89), Ebadot Hossain (2-80) and Shakib Al Hasan (2-68).


In their response Bangladesh made a sedate start. But they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Shakib top-scored for Bangladesh as he finished on 43 off 50 balls. But he did not have much support. He stiched partnerships with Yasir Ali and Mahmudullah but it was not enough. India kept chipping away as they got the prized wicket of Mehidy Hasan Miraz quite cheaply. In the end Bangladesh was bowled out for 182 in 34 overs. For India the best bowlers were Shardul Thakur (3-30), Axar Patel (2-22) and Umran Malik (2-43).

This was the third highest defeat for Bangladesh in ODIs. The two teams will now regroup in a few days to start the two-Test series. 

Match Summary
India: 409-8 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Shikhar Dhawan-4.1 ov), 2-305 (Ishan Kishan-35.5 ov), 3-320 (Shreyas Iyer-38.1 ov), 4-344 (KL Rahul-40.5 ov), 5-344 (Virat Kohli-41.1 ov), 6-390 (Axar Patel-47.2 ov), 7-405 (Washington Sundar-48.5 ov), 8-409 (Shardul Thakur-49.4 ov)

Bangladesh: 182 (34)
Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Anamul Haque-4.1 ov), 2-47 (Litton Das-7.3 ov), 3-73 (Mushfiqur Rahim-11.6 ov), 4-107 (Yasir Ali-19.3 ov), 5-124 (Shakib Al Hasan-22.6 ov), 6-143 (Mahmudullah-26.5 ov), 7-145 (Afif Hossain-27.4 ov), 8-148 (Mehidy Hasan Miraz-29.1 ov), 9-148 (Ebadot Hossain-29.5 ov), 10-182 (Mustafizur Rahman-33.6)


Playing XI
Bangladesh: Anamul Haque, Liton Das (captain), Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Ebadot Hossain

India: Ishan Kishan, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wiket-keeper & captain), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Yadav

Match Details
Toss: Bangladesh, elected to field
Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram
Start time: 0600 hrs GMT
Match officials: Gazi Sohel, Michael Gough (On-field Umpires); Masudur Rahman (TV Umpire); Tanvir Ahmed (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022