Bangalore end dismal season with consolation win

Virat Kohli scored a fifty for Royal Challengers Bangalore
Virat Kohli scored a fifty for Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore 161-6 (Kohli 58) beat
Delhi Daredevils 151 (Pant 45) by 10 runs
56th match, Indian Premier League, Delhi

Virat Kohli scored a useful fifty while Pawan Negi and Harshal Patel picked three wickets apiece as Royal Challengers Bangalore earned a consolation victory after beating Delhi Daredevils by 10 runs in the final group stage game of Indian Premier League at Feroz Shah Kotla.

Bangalore opted to bat first on winning the toss. Chris Gayle (48) started the innings positively with two sixes and as many boundaries in the first four overs but his opening partner Vishnu Vinod (3) was castled by Pat Cummins (2-21). Bangalore ended the powerplay at 37 for one.

After consolidating a bit Kohli (58) stepped up the accelerator with a couple of boundaries and a six as Bangalore went to 66 for one at halfway mark.

The pair took the attack to Amit Mishra (0-26) plundering him for two sixes and a four combined in the 12th over. Shahbaz Nadeem (1-12) provided the breakthrough when he had Gayle caught at midwicket, two runs short of a half century and in the next over Travis Head (2) was run out.

Kolhi completed his fifty off 39 deliveries and it needed a special Pawan Negi (13 not out) cameo for Bangalore as they went on to post 161 for six in their 20 overs.

Anvesh Khan (1-22) in his maiden outing had Sanju Samson (0) caught at mid on in the second delivery of the chase. Even though, Karun Nair (26), Shreyas Iyer (32) and Rishabh Pant (45) got starts, they failed to covert it big.

With Patel (3-43) and Negi (3-10) striking at regular intervals, even a nine-ball cameo from Mohammad Shami (21) that had three fours and a six wasn't enough for Delhi Daredevils as they succumbed to a 10-run defeat.

The tournament now shifts to the play-off stage where Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiant take on each other in Qualifier 1 while Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders battle it out in Eliminator on Wednesday.

© Cricket World 2017