Bangalore To Host IPL7 Final

Bangalore will host the final of the Indian Premier League 2014
Bangalore will host the final of the Indian Premier League 2014
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Indian Premier League Governing Council has confirmed that the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore will host this year's final.

The original schedule had Chennai hosting the first two matches in play-off week with Mumbai hosting the final two games.

However, the MA Chidambaram Stadium will not be available for the rest of the IPL, meaning Chennai Super Kings matches have also been moved.

They will play matches against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (18th May) and the Sunrisers Hyderabad (22nd May) in Ranchi.

One other fixture change sees the match between the Kolkata Knight Riders and the Mumbai Indians on 14th May moved to Cuttack.

And with the Governing Council deciding to take the play-off games to more stadia given that the first 20 games of the season were played outside of India, the new schedule is as follows.

27th May: 1st Qualifier (first place v second place), Eden Gardens, Kolkata
28th May: Eliminator (third place v fourth place), Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
30th May: 2nd Qualifier (1st Qualifier loser v Eliminator winner), Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
1st June: Final, M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

There are reserve days for the first qualifier, the eliminator and the final.

In other news from this year's tournament, Praveen Kumar has joined the Mumbai Indians as a replacement for the injured Zaheer Khan and Imran Tahir has joined up with the Delhi Daredevils to replace Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Following the ugly spat between Mitchell Starc and Kieron Pollard in the game between the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Mumbai Indians, both players have been fined.

Starc was fined 50 per cent of his match fee while Pollard was fined 75 per cent and both captains, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, were fined for maintaining slow over-rates.

© Cricket World 2014