< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh announce squad for first Test against Australia

Bangladesh announce squad for first Test against Australia
Bangladesh have announced an unchanged squad for the first Test against Australia to be played in Chittagong from 9th October.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a 14-man squad for the first Test match to be played against Australia in Chittagong from 9th October.

The selectors have retained the same squad that played in the rain-marred two-match Test series against South Africa earlier this year.

Mushfiqur Rahim will lead the side with Tamim Iqbal as his deputy, and regulars like Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, and Imrul Kayes are also named.

Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman and Mohammad Shahid will be the pace bowlers in the attack while Jubair Hossain and Taijul Islam will be the spinners along with Shakib.

Youngsters Mominul Haque, Soumya Sarkar and Nasir Hossain have also been given the green light, and wicket-keeper Litton Kumar Das is also included.

Cricket Australia (CA) had temporarily delayed the departure of the Australian team to Bangladesh due to a security advisory issued by the Australian government.

The doubts over the series, however, seem to continue as there has been no official disclosure of the outcome of the meetings between CA officials and the Bangladesh government.

BCB president Nazmul Hassan refused to divulge details of the meetings but only asserted that the series can go ahead as per the original schedule if Australia arrive two days prior to the first Test.

“I can't say anything specific right now. There is still time.

“The series can be held on schedule if the Australian team comes with two days in hand.” 

A CA spokesperson however revealed that there was no change in the position of the board as they are still continuing to work with the Australian government on the issue.

"There has been no change to the situation or our current position.

“Our Head of Security has had a number of meetings with Bangladeshi government and cricket officials in Dhaka today.

"We are also continuing to liaise closely with the Australian government on the matter." 

Bangladesh Home Minister, Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal stated that the Australian team will be provided with the highest level of security if the tour goes ahead as planned.

"The highest security protocol will be provided for the Australian cricket team," said Kamal

On Monday, the BCB president had also assured the CA officials that it was completely safe for the Australian team to play cricket in Bangladesh.

Bangladesh squad for First Test:

Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Tamim Iqbal (vice-captain), Imrul Kayes, Liton Kumar Das, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Nasir Hossain, Taijul Islam, Jubair Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Shahid, Mustafizur Rahman.

© Cricket World 2015