< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh, Ireland qualify for WWT20 2016

Ireland celebrate victory over Scotland and ICC WWT20 qualification
Ireland celebrate victory over Scotland and ICC WWT20 qualification
©ICC/Ian Jacobs

Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe and Ireland saw off Scotland to reach the final of the ICC Women's World T20 Qualifier in Bangkok and qualify for next year's ICC Women's World T20 in India.

In the Shield semi-finals, China beat Thailand by five runs and Papua New Guinea beat Netherlands by one wicket to reach the final.

Remaining fixtures

5th December

Final: Bangladesh v Ireland

3rd/4th play-off: Scotland v Zimbabwe

Shield final: China v PNG

7th/8th play-off: Netherlands v Thailand

Scotland batted first against Ireland and posted 77 for eight with Fiona Urquhart top scoring with 21 and Elizabeth Priddle making 11.

However, no other player could reach double figures as three wickets for Lucy O'Reilly led the way for Ireland, who then knocked off the runs in 11.3 overs.

They lost only the wicket of Clare Shillington (34) with Cecelia Joyce (36 not out) and Kim Garth (5 not out) seeing them home.

They will play Bangladesh in the final after Zimbabwe were comfortably beaten by 31 runs.

Run-scoring remained difficult as Bangladesh posted 89 for five with Fargana Hoque making 43 and Sharmin Akhter 22.

Rumana Ahmed then took four for eight and a brace of wickets apiece from Fahima Khatun and Shaila Sharmin saw Zimbabwe dismissed for just 58.

China successfully defended 82 against Thailand, who closed on 77 for eight in their reply.

PNG left it late to beat Netherlands, recovering from five for three to seal victory with a single from the final ball of the game having been set 106 to win.

© Cricket World 2015