Bangladesh MPs Beat British MPs At The Oval

Bangladesh MPs Beat British MPs At The Oval
Bangladesh MPs Beat British MPs At The Oval
©Cricket World

A team of Bangladesh Members of the Parliament headed by Nazmul Hassan MP visited London to play a friendly cricket match with British Members of the Parliament, winning their one-day game by 47 runs.

Invited by former Prime Minister Sir John Major and Conservative MPs, the delegation exchanged views with the All Party Parliamentary committee and also Conservative Party MPs in the House of Commons.

They also attended a reception party organized by Conservative Friends of Bangladesh which was attended by Secretary of State including Anne Maine MP, Nicky Morgan MP and others. A large number of Bangladeshi communities including High Commissioner of Bangladesh were also present.

Later the visiting delegation played a cricket match at The Kia Oval against the British MPs.

Team members of Bangladesh MP team were: Nazmul Hassan Papon MP (captain) (Kishorganj-6), Md. Zahid Ahasan Rasel MP(vice captain) (Gazipur-2), Talukder Md.Touhid Jong (Murad) MP (Dhaka-19), Zunaid Ahmed Palak MP (Natore-3), Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury MP (Dinajpur-2), Md.Shafikul Islam Apu MP (Jhenaidah-2), Mustaque Ahmed Ruhi MP (Netrakona-1) , Md. Shariar Alam MP (Rajshahi-6), Mohammed Shah Alam MP (Brahmanbaria-4), Samsul Haq Chowdhury MP (Chittagong-11) and Dr. Md. Murad Hasan MP (Jamalpur-4). Team manager was Nasrul Hamid Bipu MP (Dhaka-3).

John Redwood MP, Bob Blackman MP, Mark Lancaster MP, Richard Hillar MP, Edward Davies MP, and Graham Stuart MP participated from British MP side although they were beaten by their visitors.

Later, the trophy was handed over to the Bangladesh MP team captain Nazmul Hassan Papon MP. Six months earlier, a similar match was played at Mirpur's Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium as part of their views exchanging and relation-building programme in Bangladesh.

© Croclet World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.