< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh Name 15-Man Asia Cup Squad

Bangladesh Name 15-Man Asia Cup Squad
Bangladesh Name 15-Man Asia Cup Squad
©Action Images / Jason Cairnduff

Bangladesh have named their 15-man squad for the Asia Cup in Sri Lanka, recalling former captain Mohammad Ashraful.

Ashraful was dropped for the visit of England earlier this yaer but following his appeareance in the ICC World Twenty20 and the Test series in England, he is back in the squad for the four-team tournament that runs from 15th to 24th June in Dambulla.

Left-arm seamer Syed Rasel returns to the squad after a lengthy absence due to injury and batsman Jahurul Islam is included and is the only player yet to play an ODI, although he has played three Tests and a Twenty20 International.

Bangladesh will play India in their opening match on 16th June, hosts Sri Lanka on 18th June and then Pakistan on 21st June and the final will be held on 24th June.

Bangladesh Asia Cup squad: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Jahurul Islam, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Naeem Islam, Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Suhrawadi Shuvo

© Cricket World 2010