< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh name four uncapped players in Test squad

Sabbir Rahman is set to make his debut for Bangladesh in Test cricket
Sabbir Rahman is set to make his debut for Bangladesh in Test cricket
©REUTERS / Action Images

Bangladesh selectors have included four uncapped players in a 14-man revamped squad for the first Test against England in Chittagong.

Sabbir Rahman, a prominent member of Bangladesh's limited overs team is set to make his debut after included in the squad. He recently captained the Bangladesh Cricket Board XI team against England in the first tour game.

Even though he failed to make an impact with the bat, he was handy with his leg-spin picking three wickets in the game. Rahman also scored 46 runs in the third One-Day International against England in Chittagong and was also fined 20 percent of his match fee for involving in an on-field tussle with Jos Buttler in the second game of the series.

The 24-year-old has played 55 limited overs games for Bangladesh and has scored 1227 runs which includes six fifties.

Apart from Rahman's inclusion, Mehedi Hasan, Kamrul Islam Rabbi and Nurul Hasan also managed to make it to the squad.

Mehedi, a former Under-19 captain has 524 runs and 41 wickets in 12 first-class matches while Rabbi, who was picked for the Twenty20 International series against Zimbabwe last year has 103 first-class wickets from 47 matches. Nurul has played six T20Is for Bangladesh and will remain as cover to Mushfiqur Rahim.

The selectors have also recalled fast bowler Shafiul Islam and off-spinner Shuvagata Hom to the squad.

Bangladesh head coach Chandika Hathurusingha, who is a part of the selection committee expressed satisfaction at the depth of the squad.

"We will try to fit in Sabbir in the XI. Having a lot of options is a good headache to have. Nurul is one of the best wicketkeepers in the country,"

Bangladesh's squad for first Test:

Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Tamim Iqbal (vice-capt), Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan , Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Nurul Hasan, Shafiul Islam, Shuvagata Hom

© Cricket World 2016