Bangladesh Name Preliminary World Cup Squad

Bangladesh Name Preliminary World Cup Squad
Bangladesh Name Preliminary World Cup Squad
©REUTERS/Athar Hussain (PAKISTAN) Picture Supplied by Action Images

2011 World Cup co-hosts Bangladesh have named their 30-man provisional squad for the tournament, including batsmen Alok Kapali and Nazimuddin in the squad.

Kapali, the first man to score a century in the unofficial Indian Cricket League, has not played a One-Day International since 2008, while Nazimuddin also last played in 2008.

Former captain Mohammad Ashraful, who has not featured in recent series wins over New Zealand and Zimbabwe, is also named in the squad, which will be reduced to 15 names by 19th January.

Uncapped glovemen Saghir Hossain and Mithun Ali have been included in the squad as back-up wicket-keepers to Mushfiqur Rahim.

The tournament gets underway on 19th January when Bangladesh meet India in Dhaka.

Bangladesh preliminary World Cup squad: Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Raqibul Hasan, Alok Kapali, Nazimuddin, Shamsur Rahman, Shuvagoto Horn, Jahurul Islam, Mushfiqur Rahim, Saghir Hossain, Mithun Ali, Nasir Hossain, Naeem Islam, Suhrawadi Shuvo, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Nazmul Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel, Shahadat Hossain, Mahbubul Alam, Dollar Mahmud, Enamul Haque junior

© Cricket World 2010