< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh Name Preliminary World Cup Squad

Bangladesh have named their 30-man squad for next year's World Cup
Bangladesh have named their 30-man squad for next year's World Cup
©REUTERS / Action Images

Bangladesh have named their 30-man preliminary squad for next year's Cricket World Cup 2015 in Australia and New Zealand.

Fresh from a 5-0 One-Day International series clean sweep over Zimbabwe, Bangladesh will take confidence into the tournament, although they are wary of the challange of playing in foreign conditions.

"I believe we have picked the strongest 30 available to us at the moment," Faruque Ahmed, Bangladesh Cricket Board's chairman of selectors said.

"We have concentrated on creating back-ups for every position because it will be a long tournament. We have a good balance in the side with all areas covered.

"Most of the players who have been in or around the national team during the last six or seven months have been given a chance. There is a noticeable blend of youth and experience.

"The conditions in Australia and New Zealand will be a challenge for all the sub continental teams including Bangladesh. We cannot create those conditions here and that’s why we have selected players based on performances in competitions they have appeared in and our intuition."

Uncapped players Liton Das, Mohammad Shahid and Mukhtar Ali are included while Soumya Sarkar and Taijul Islam have played just one ODI.

Abul Hasan, Elias Sunny, Jubair Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Shabbir Rahman, Shuvagata Hom and Taskin Ahmed have also played five ODIs or less.

Das is a wicket-keeper who has scored five half-centuries in 12 one-day games in his career, Ali is a medium pacer who has twice taken four wickets in an innings and has a first-class century to his name while Shahid has taken 23 wickets in 17 one-day games.

Sohag Gazi, who is currently suspended from bowling due to an illegal action has been left out of the squad.

Bangladesh open their campaign in Pool A against Afghanistan on 18th February before taking on Australia (21st February), Sri Lanka (26th February), Scotland (4th March), England (9th March) and New Zealand (13th March).

They will also play warm-up games against Pakistan on 8th February and Ireland on 12th February.

This will be Bangladesh's fifth World Cup appearance after making their debut in 1999. Their most successful tournament to date came in 2007 when they beat India in the initial group stage and followed it up with a victory over South Africa in the Super Eights.

They were less impressive last time out, however, failing to make the quarter-finals in the tournament they co-hosted with India and Sri Lanka.

From the squad that competed in that competition, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Naeem Islam, Shafiul Islam, Rubel Hossain and Abdur Razzak are in this preliminary squad.

Junaid Siddique, Shahriar Nafees, Mohammad Ashraful, Raqibul Hasan, Suhrawadi Shuvo and Nazmul Hossain are absent.

Bangladesh preliminary World Cup squad: Abdur Razzak, Abul Hasan, Al-Amin Hossain, Anamul Haque, Arafat Sunny, Elias Sunny, Imrul Kayes, Jubair Hossain, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Marshall Ayub, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Shahid, Mominul Haque, Mukhtar Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim, Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Shabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Shamsur Rahman, Shuvagata Hom, Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed, Ziaur Rahman

© Cricket World 2014


Bails & Badger - The Slog Sweep