Bangladesh Name Squad To Take On West Indies

Bangladesh Name Squad To Take On West Indies
Bangladesh Name Squad To Take On West Indies
©REUTERS/Action Images

Bangladesh have axed Junaid Siddique and Robiul Islam from their squads for the Twenty20 and one-day legs of their home series against West Indies that begins on 11th October.

They have recalled Shahadat Hossain and called up Elias Sunny for what would be his first match in a Tigers shirt if he was picked in the starting eleven.

Junaid featured just twice in one-day cricket on Bangladesh’s tour of Zimbabwe, making scores of 12 and 14, while Robiul did not feature in any of the five matches.

Of the new faces, Shahadat last played for Bangladesh on the tour of England in 2010 where he was erratic despite picking up five wickets at Lord’s in the first Test, while Elias has been picked off the back of his impressive performances in the recently concluded Bangladesh Cricket Board Cup.

The West Indians will play two tour matches in Fatullah on the 7th and 9th October, before competing against the hosts in a Twenty20 international, three One-Day Internationals and two Test matches.

Bangladesh T20 Squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Mahmudullah (vice captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Alok Kapali, Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Elias Sunny, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Nazmul Hossain.

Suhrawadi Shuvo, Shahriar Nafees, Shuvagato Hom and Shahadat Hossain will join the squad for the ODIs on the 13th October.

© Cricket World 2011