Bangladesh Name Test Squad For England Tour

Bangladesh Name Test Squad For England Tour
Bangladesh Name Test Squad For England Tour
©REUTERS/Andrew Biraj (BANGLADESH - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Bangladesh have named a 15-man squad for their two-match Test tour of England which begins on 27th May.

Batsman and former captain Mohammad Ashraful returns to the squad having missed the home series against the same opposition while Jahurul Islam, who made his debut in the second Test, retains his place.

There is still no place for experienced fast bowler Mashrafe Mortaza, who has been struggling with knee injuries and recently made a comeback during the ICC World Twenty20.

Instead, uncapped pacer Robiul Islam joins Shahadat Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam and Mahbubul Alam as captain Shakib Al Hasan's quick-bowling options.

Abdur Razzak is named as the only specialist spinner with Shakib, Naeem Islam and Mahmudullah the other slow bowlers in the party.

The first Test is at Lord's before the two teams meet at Old Trafford from 4th June. Bangladesh then play three One-Day Internationals at Trent Bridge, Bristol and Edgbaston and then play Ireland twice, the Netherlands and Scotland in ODIs to complete their tour.

England remain the only Test-playing nation never to have been beaten by Bangladesh in any format of the game.

Bangladesh Test squad: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Ashraful, Zunaed Siddique, Jahurul Islam, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Naeem Islam, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Mahbubul Alam, Robiul Islam.

© Cricket World 2010