< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh Name World Cup Squad

Mashrafe Mortaza hits out against India
Mashrafe Mortaza will captain Bangladesh as they aim to progress from Pool A in Australia and New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

Bangladesh have named their final 15-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, which gets underway in Australia and New Zealand next month.

All-rounder Soumya Sarkar is included in the squad after making his debut as recently as December against Zimbabwe.

Likewise, left-arm spinner Taijul Islam, who made his debut in the same game and marked it by taking a hat-trick, is in the squad.

Both players have played a single ODI but their inexperience is balanced by the presence of Mashrafe Mortaza (144 ODIs), Shakib Al Hasan (141), Mushfiqur Rahim (140) and Tamim Iqbal (135).

Mortaza captains the squad and Shakib, having returned from a suspension for misconduct, will act as his vice-captain.

Arafat Sunny, with eight appearances, Sabbir Rahman, with five, and Taskin Ahmed, with three, are the other players in the squad to have played less than 10 ODIs.

Bangladesh play Afghanistan on 18th February to get their World Cup campaign underway before also playing Australia (21st February), Sri Lanka (26th February), Scotland (4th March), England (9th March) and New Zealand (13th March) in Pool A.

Bangladesh World Cup squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Al-Amin Hossain, Anamul Haque, Arafat Sunny, Mahmudullah, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed

© Cricket World 2015


Bails & Badger - The Slog Sweep