Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Bangladesh, Pakistan make to ICC Champions Trophy

Bangladesh, Pakistan make ICC Champions Trophy
Bangladesh have made it to the ICC Champions Trophy after a span of nine years.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Bangladesh and Pakistan along with the top six ranked teams in the International Cricket Council One-Day Internationals rankings as on 30th September 2015 have made it to the Champions Trophy 2017 to be held in England.

Bangladesh have made a comeback into the tournament after a span of nine years following their impressive show since the 2015 World Cup with series victories over Pakistan, India and South Africa.

Pakistan on the other end confirmed their spot in the tournament after defeating Sri Lanka 3-2 in the ODI series held in July.

Missing the cut for the first time since the tournament's inception in 1998 is West Indies, who had a dreadful outing in the 50-over format in the last three years.

In their last 14 ODI series over a span of three years, West Indies have managed just three wins - coming against Zimbabwe (2013), Ireland and Bangladesh (2014) which pushed them to the ninth spot in the rankings.

The six sides to feature in the tournament apart from Bangladesh and Pakistan are Australia, India, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and the host England.

The Champions Trophy 2017 will be a 15-match tournament, with teams split into two groups of four, and is scheduled to be played between 1st and 18th June 2016. 

With the eight teams for the Champions Trophy 2017 finalised, the teams will now eye 30th September 2017, which is the cutoff date for the top eight ranked teams to earn a direct qualification in the ICC World Cup 2019. 

Top eight teams in the ICC ODI Rankings

Rank Team Pts
1 Australia 127
2 India 115
3 South Africa 110
4 New Zealand 109
5 Sri Lanka 103
6 England 100
7 Bangladesh 96
8 Pakistan 90

© Cricket World 2015