< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh to host 2016 Asia Cup

Bangladesh to host 2016 Asia Cup
Sri Lanka will be defending their title in the 2016 Asia Cup which will be held in Bangladesh.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Bangladesh will host the 2016 Asia Cup, which is scheduled to begin on 24th February and be run as a Twenty20 competition.

It will be the third consecutive time that Bangladesh will host the tournament after previously organising it in 2012 and 2014.

The tournament, which is usually run to a 50-over format, will turn into a Twenty20 affair for the first time to serve as a warm-up for the ICC World T20 which will be held in India in March.

The Asia Cup final will be held on 6th March, just five days before the ICC World T20 kicks off.

The tournament will feature five teams which includes four full member nations - Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India and Bangladesh.

The fifth team is yet to be decided as Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Oman and United Arab Emirates will battle it out in the qualifiers in the UAE with the winner making it to the main draw. 

However, the tournament will revert to the 50-over format from the next edition in 2018 to facilitate preparations for the 50-over World Cup to be held in England in 2019.

Sri Lanka will be defending their title in 2016 tournament after defeating Pakistan by five wickets in the final of the previous edition.

Since the tournament was first played in 1984, Sri Lanka and India have won it five times each while Pakistan have managed to clinch the title two times.

Hosting Nation

Qualifiers for Asia Cup 2016 - UAE
Asia Cup 2016 - Bangladesh 

© Cricket World 2015