< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh v West Indies 1st Test: West Indies fightback against Bangladesh on Day 3

Joshua Da Silva (West Indies) hit 42
Joshua Da Silva (West Indies) hit 42

The West Indies fought back well against Bangladesh on Day 3 of the 1st Test, at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong.

Match Summary

Bangladesh 430/10 (150.2 ov) & *47/3 (20 ov)

West Indies 259/10 (96.1 ov)

Stumps: Day 3 Bangladesh lead by 218 runs



Match Day Highlights


The West Indies were 75/2, trailing by 355 runs overnight and they batted well for a good part of the day with Kraigg Brathwaite 76, Kyle Mayers 40, Jermaine Blackwood 68 and Joshua Da Silva 42 all getting some runs, but no one hitting that big score to get close enough to Bangladesh’s 1st innings total. The Windies were bowled out for 259 with Mehidy Hasan 4-59 (adding to his maiden century yesterday) the main wicket taker and Mustafizur Rahman , Taijul Islam and Nayeem Hasan all picking up a couple of wickets.

Fall of wickets: 1-11 (John Campbell - 4.4 ov), 2-24 (Sheyne Moseley - 10.6 ov), 3-75 (Nkrumah Bonner - 29.1 ov), 4-130 (Kraigg Brathwaite - 40.2 ov), 5-154 (Kyle Mayers - 49.6 ov), 6-253 (Joshua Da Silva - 92.3 ov), 7-253 (Jermaine Blackwood - 93.1 ov), 8-253 (Kemar Roach - 93.4 ov), 9-259 (Rahkeem Cornwall - 95.1 ov), 10-259 (Jomel Warrican - 96.1 ov)


The West Indies then had a great last session with the ball, picking up 3 wickets leaving Bangladesh 47/3 at the close of play, with a lead of 218 runs.

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Tamim Iqbal - 1.4 ov), 2-1 (Nazmul Hossain Shanto - 1.6 ov), 3-33 (Shadman Islam - 14.1 ov)



Playing XIs


Bangladesh - Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque(c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das(wk), Mehidy Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

West Indies - Kraigg Brathwaite(c) , John Campbell, Jermaine Blackwood, Shayne Moseley, Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva(wk), Kyle Mayers, Rahkeem Cornwall, Jomel Warrican, Kemar Roach, Shannon Gabriel



Match Details


Start Time: 03:30

Toss: Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong

Officials: Richard Illingworth, Sharfuddoula Saikat, Gazi Sohel, Masudur Mukul, Neeyamur Rahul


 ©Cricket World 2021