< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh v West Indies 1st Test: West Indies win in historic run chase on final day

Kyle Mayers hits out
Kyle Mayers hits out
Kyle Mayers incredible 210* for  West Indies
Kyle Mayers incredible 210* for West Indies

The West Indies won the 1st Test against Bangladesh, in an historic run chase on the final day, at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong. Needing 285 runs to win, on the final day, they completed a 379, 4th innings run chase, to win.



Match Summary

Bangladesh 430/10 (150.2 ov) & 223/8d (67.5 ov)

West Indies 259/10 (96.1 ov) & 395/7 (127.3 ov)

Result – West Indies won by 3 wickets



Match Day Highlights

Debutant Kyle Mayers 210* was the hero with the bat for the West Indies, well supported by Nkrumah Bonner, who hit 86.

Kyle Mayers became the 6th player to score a Test double century on debut.

This was the fifth-highest successful fourth-innings chase in Test history and completed an amazing Test match for the tourists.

Mehidy Hasan finished with 4-113, to go alongside his century and 4-58, in the 1st Innings, for Bangladesh.

West Indies 2nd Innings Fall of wickets: 1-39 (John Campbell - 16.1 ov), 2-48 (Kraigg Brathwaite - 18.3 ov), 3-59 (Sheyne Moseley - 24.2 ov), 4-275 (Nkrumah Bonner - 97.6 ov), 5-292 (Jermaine Blackwood - 102.4 ov), 6-392 (Joshua Da Silva - 124.3 ov), 7-394 (Kemar Roach - 126.5 ov)


Playing XIs


Bangladesh - Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque(c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das(wk), Mehidy Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

West Indies - Kraigg Brathwaite(c) , John Campbell, Jermaine Blackwood, Shayne Moseley, Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva(wk), Kyle Mayers, Rahkeem Cornwall, Jomel Warrican, Kemar Roach, Shannon Gabriel




Match Details

Start Time: 03:30

Toss: Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong

Officials: Richard Illingworth, Sharfuddoula Saikat, Gazi Sohel, Masudur Mukul, Neeyamur Rahul




© Cricket World 2021