< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh vs Pakistan 1st Test Day 5: Pakistan draw first blood

Two successive boundaries from Azhar Ali, Pakistan’s most experienced batsman, took his side to an eight-wicket win against Bangladesh on the final morning of the opening Test at Chattogram.


Bangladesh 330/10 (114.4 ov) & 157/10 (56.2 ov)

Pakistan 286/10 (115.4 ov) & 203/2 (58.3 ov)

Results - Pakistan won by 8 wickets


His fellow Lahore-born Abid Ali with two innings of 133 & 91, played a starring role at the top of the order emerged as a straight forward choice for Player of the Match.

Pakistan resumed their innings on 109-0 and the partnership between Abid and Abdullah Shafique had taken the score to 151 when Bangladesh had their first success. Abdullah, ever so impressive on his Test debut, was trapped leg-before for 73 (129 balls, 8 fours, 1 six) attempting a sweep, but had taken the game away from the opposition. Both his technique and temperament on a tricky surface sent positive vibes and the management could not have asked for more from this bright batting talent. His senior partner Abid, having taken hit three boundaries in a row off Tajul, fell 9 runs short of his second hundred of the match, against the same bowler. The last rituals of the contest were taken care of by Azhar (24 not out) and skipper Bbar Azam (13 not out).

Bangladesh would be disappointed with the result of the Test match for after gaining a useful 44-run first innings lead, it squandered the opportunity to press on and tighten their grip. One felt sorry for slow left-armer – Tajul Islam, whose tireless efforts were thrown away by lack of experience of his team mates. He could be proud of his final match figures of 72.4 – 13 – 205 – 8 and shall pose threat to Pakistan batsmen in the second Test of the series in Mirpur, kicking off on 4th December. His main target, next week, surely will be Abid, who in less than two years has accumulated 1141 runs @ 49.60 with four hundreds in 15 Test matches.

Playing XIs

Pakistan - Abid Ali, Imam ul Haq, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam (c), Fawad Alam, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Faheem Ashraf/Kamran Ghulam/Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Nauman Ali, Shaheen Afridi

Bangladesh - Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Mominul Haque (c), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Liton Das (wk), Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan, Abu Jayed/Rejaur Rahman Raja, Ebadot Hossain

© Cricket World 2021