< >
Cricket Betting us

Bangladesh vs Pakistan 3rd T20I: Pakistan take a 3-0 T20I series win over Bangladesh in thrilling last ball victory

Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 5 wickets, in a thrilling last ball finish to win the 3rd and final T20I, at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur today.

Match Summary

Bangladesh 124/7 (20 ov)

Pakistan *127/5 (20 ov)


Salim Parvez  - Bangladesh-Pakistan T20I Series Review


A three-match T20I series between Bangladesh and Pakistan, less than a week after the conclusion of the T20 World Cup in UAE, was set to be an anti-climax. It was an opportunity to test the bench strength of both countries. Pakistan in particular, having remained unchanged throughout the global tournament was keen to include Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim & Shahnawaz Dahani – all good enough to enjoy lengthy international career.

The tourists led by Babar Azam were on a high after reaching semi-finals of the T20World Cup whereas the host had failed to win a single match in the global event. Bangladesh in the absence of three key players – Mushfiqur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Hasan – were set to struggle and suffered a whitewash with three defeats at Sher Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur. Although it is to be said that only the second match of the series could be termed one-sided. Mohammad Rizwan, in great form with the bat throughout 2021, adapted well to the slow pitches and was picked Player of the Series.


1st Match

Bangladesh opting to bat first found its top order struggling against Pakistan bowling and were 40-4 in the 9th over. Without the cameos from Afif Hossan (36 off 24 balls), Nurul Hasan (28 off 22 balls) and Mehedi Hasan (30 not out off 20 balls), their final total of 127-7 would not have been possible. The two sixes by Mehedi in the last over of the innings bowled by Haris Rauf, who gave away 33 runs in his four-over spell, thrilled the crowd. Hasan Ali with 3-22 in his four overs was chosen the Player of the Match.

Bangladesh bowlers knocked back four wickets in no time to leave Pakistan on 24-4 in in the sixth over. The run out of Shoaib Malik was most bizarre for despite the presence of a number of fielders, found himself outside the crease, after having just played a defensive stroke. Only heavens know what was going on in his mind as he did not ground his bat, after the wicket was broken by one of Bangladesh close fielders. A close study of his career shall reveal that Shoaib failed to fulfil his great potential as a batsman and his mode and manner of dismissals has often left one speechless on more than one occasion.

At that stage the two left-handed – Fakhar Zaman (34 off 36 balls) and Khushdil Shah (34 off 35 balls) – took up the fight in their 56-run stand in 8.2 overs. It would prove match winning for after their exit all-rounders – Shadab Khan and Mohammad Nawaz with two sixes apiece, took Pakistan to a four-wicket win, with four balls to spare. The tourists were looking for 32 runs in the last three overs which could have been tricky without the lower order contributions.


2nd Match

Twice in as many days Bangladesh skipper Mahmudullah chose to bat first and with the return of Shaheen Afridi found Pakistan bowling, just a touch too strong for their liking. They owed Nazmul Hossain (40 off 34 balls) considerably in their below par total of 108-7 on a wicket that offered slow turn. A sort of surface that didn’t allow for free scoring, more so against the slow bowlers.

The second-wicket stand worth 85 runs between Mohammad Rizwan (39) and Fakhar Zaman (57 not out off 51 balls, 2 fours, 3 sixes), put Pakistan on course for their convincing victory by 8 wickets , with 11 balls still in the bank. The left-handed Fakhar is a match winner and was a straight forward choice for the Player of the Match award. With his ability to bat at any top four batting slots, his inclusion strengthens Pakistan to challenge the best teams in the world.


3rd Match

The third match turned into a low-scoring thriller until decided by a boundary of the last possible delivery by Mohammad Nawaz off Mahmudullah. The Rawalpindi-born unassuming bowling all-rounder, arrived at the crease with two runs required. All credit to Bangladesh bowlers, who almost clinched a famous win, whilst defending a small total of 124-7, which the home side had posted after winning the toss for third time in a row in the present T20I series.

Making first use of the wicket, Bangladesh opening batsman – Mohammad Naim was top scorer with 47 off 50 balls but had 22 dot balls to his name. The sluggish nature of the wicket with the slow bowlers on top in containment, the batsmen could not chance their arms with any degree of freedom. Usman Qadir, featuring in Pakistan’s playing eleven, prized out two middle order wickets but was expensive with 35 runs in his 4 overs. With the series already in the bag, Pakistan management were happy to call on their bench players including T2OI debut for Shahnawaz Dahani, the exciting fast-medium talent from Larkana, Sindh.

In reply Pakistan with Mohammad Rizwan (40) and Haider Ali (45), joining hands in the seventh over, took the score to 83 in the 16th over before Bangladesh bowlers had a look in. With eight required in the last over, a dot ball was followed by the dismissals of Sarfraz Ahmed and Haider Ali. All-rounder Iftikhar Ahmed’s straight six – a 90-meter hit - eased the nerves but he was caught off the next ball.  A drama to the end.

The Player of the Match award went to Haider Ali, a fine young talent, who stroked 45 off 38 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes. About time he was regular in both formats of white ball cricket. Pakistan ought to be planning carefully for the T20 World Cup to be staged in Australia in 2022, possibly without Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik & Sarfraz Ahmed – the three men at the very end of their journey as internationals.



Fall of Wickets


Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Najmul Hossain - 1.3 ov), 2-37 (Shamim Patwari - 7.2 ov), 3-80 (Afif Hossain - 14.2 ov), 4-111 (Naim Sheikh - 18.3 ov), 5-116 (Nurul Hasan - 18.6 ov), 6-116 (Mahmudullah - 19.1 ov), 7-124 (Aminul Islam - 19.6 ov)


Fall of wickets: 1-32 (Babar Azam - 6.6 ov), 2-83 (Mohammad Rizwan - 15.1 ov), 3-117 (Sarfaraz Ahmed - 19.2 ov), 4-117 (Haider Ali - 19.3 ov), 5-123 (Iftikhar Ahmed - 19.5 ov)

Playing XIs

Bangladesh - Mohammad Naim, Parvez Hossain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Mahmudullah (c), Nurul Hasan (wk), Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Shoriful Islam/Mustafizur Rahman

Pakistan - Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Khushdil Shah, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Haris Rauf

Match Details


Start Time: 08:00

Toss: Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur

Officials: Masudur Mukul, Tanvir Ahmed, Sharfuddoula Saikat, Gazi Sohel, Neeyamur Rahul

© Cricket World 2021