< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe: 1st Test Day 1: Honours even as Bangladesh fight back after early Muzarabani blitz

Bangladesh's Liton Das hits out
Bangladesh's Liton Das hits out
©Zimbabwe cricket

Bangladesh fight back with a thrilling knock from Liton Das as Zimbabwe failed to capitalize on the start provided by Muzarabani.

Match Summary:

Bangladesh (1st innings) – 294/8 (83 overs)


Session 1, Day 1:

Zimbabwe bowlers, especially Blessing Muzarabani bowled superbly during the first spell. He struck in the very first over by cleaning Saif Hassan up with a beautiful in-swinger. Muzarbani accounted for the wicket of Nazmul Hossain Shanto in the 5th over and Bangladesh looked in all sorts of trouble at 8 for 2.

In came captain Mominul Haque and he played a counter attacking knock to keep Bangladesh on the front foot. He played some brilliant shots throughout his innings. Along with Shadman Islam, he revived the Bangladesh innings and stitched a partnership of 60 runs for the 3rd wicket. Islam was dismissed by Ngarava in the 21st over and by lunch, Bangladesh were 70 for 3 with Mushfiqur Rahim new at the crease and Mominul Haque batting at 32.

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Saif Hassan, 0.5 ov), 2-8 (Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4.2 ov), 3-68 (Shadman Islam, 20.1 ov)

Session 2, Day 1:

Post lunch, Mushfiqur Rahim and Mominul Haque took the innings forward with caution. They put away only the lose deliveries on offer and collected 38 runs for the 4th wicket partnership before Muzarbani accounted for the big wicket of Rahim as he was dismissed for 11. Shakib Al Hasan disappointed after he edged a wide delivery outside off to the keeper the very next over.

Bangladesh were now 109 for 5 and staring down at an under par total. Mominul Haque on the other end, kept scoring without any hassle and reached his half century after facing 64 balls. Nyauchi provided a much needed breakthrough in the 36th over by dismissing the captain Mominul Haque for  a well made 70. Bangladesh were now 132 for 6 with Mahmudullah and Liton Das at the crease. Both batters played carefully and moved the scoreboard along. By tea, Bangladesh were 167 for 6, with Mahmudullah batting at 14 and Liton Das at 26.

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Saif Hassan, 0.5 ov), 2-8 (Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4.2 ov), 3-68 (Shadman Islam, 20.1 ov), 4-106 (Mushfiqur Rahim, 28.4 ov), 5-109 (Shakib Al Hasan, 29.3 ov), 6-132 (Mominul Haque, 35.6 ov)

Session 3, Day 1:

Post Tea, Liton Das and Mahmudullah built the innings again and stitched a threatening partnership for the 7th wicket. Liton Das took on the aggressor role and he didnt let any scoring opportunity slip. He reached half century after playing out 84 balls. Mahmudullah played a wonderful supporting role in the partnership and Bangladesh seemed to be cruising towards a big total.

Zimbabwe tried all the tricks in the book to contain the two batters but failed miserably as Mahmudullah and Liton Das continued to pile on the runs for their side. Das stamped his authority with the hook shot off Donald Tripano in the 77th over to reach 93. It was a message from Das that he was going to covert the start he got into a bigger score.

However, before Das could reach his ton, Tripano removed him with a similar ball that was dispatched to the boundary in previous over. Hence, there came a tragic end to what was a phenomenal knock of 95 runs played by Liton Das. Donald Tripano just did not stop there as he removed Mehidy Hasan on the very next ball to pin Bangladesh to 270 for 8. He missed out on a maiden hattrick chance as Taskin Ahmed blocked out the next ball.

New ball was taken at the end of the 80th over and Muzarbani produced an eventful 81st over to keep Zimbabwe in the hunt. Mahmudullah and Taskin Ahmed survived some snaring deliveries. The umpires called it stumps by the end of the 83rd over with Bangladesh 294 for 8. Mahmudullah was unbeaten at 54 while Taskin Ahmed was batting at 13.

Fall of Wickets: Liton Das (270/7, 78.1 overs) Mehidy Hasan (270/8, 78.2 overs)


Zimbabwe- Brendan Taylor (c), Regis Chakabwa (wk), Timycen Maruma, Milton Shumba, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Dion Myers, Roy Kaia, Donald Tripano, Blessing Muzarabani, Victor Nyauchi, Richard Ngarava

Bangladesh- Liton Das (wk) Mominul Haque (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadat Hossain.

Match Details

Start Time: 11:00

Toss: Bangladesh won toss and elected to bat first.

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Officials: Langton Rusere(Zimbabwe), Marais Erasmus(South Africa), Iknow Chabi(Zimbabwe, TV)

©Cricket World 2021