< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe: 1st Test Day 4: Bangladesh tighten the screws on Zimbabwe

Bangladesh tighten the screws on Zimbabwe
Bangladesh tighten the screws on Zimbabwe

Bangladesh tighten the screws around Zimbabwe on the 4th day.

Match Summary:

Bangladesh (1st Innings) – 468/10 (126 overs)

Zimbabwe (1st Innings) - 276/10 (111.5 overs)

Bangladesh (2nd innings) - 284/1 (declared, 67.4 overs) Lead by 477 runs

Zimbabwe (2nd Innings) - 140/3 (40 overs)


Session 1, Day 4:

Resuming their innings at 45 for 0, Bangladesh openers completed a 50 run stand for the first wicket in the 19th over. Saif Hassan had been timing the ball sweetly and didnt spare any width outside off stump. However, he fell to a similar delivery by Ngarava when he tried to slash hard at a ball outside off stump only to give a sharp catch to the gully region. He was dismissed at 43 and Najmul Hossain Shanto came in to bat at number 3.

Shanto batted cautiously for the first few overs and made sure that Bangladesh got into a strong position before firing all guns. Shadman Islam got to his fifty in 101 balls. He started picking up pace with the bat and by lunch, he was already batting at 72, while Shanto was batting at 47. Bangladesh were comfortably placed at 169 for 1 and they were expected to come out and increase scoring rate after lunch.

Fall of wickets: 1-88 (Saif Hassan, 30.2 ov)

Session 2, Day 4:

Najmul Hossain Shanto Shanto reached 50 after facing 60 deliveries. He had already hit 2 fours and 2 sixes by then. The pair of Shadman Islam and Najmul Hossain Shanto put up a 100 run stand for the second wicket in just 141 balls. Shadman swiftly approached towards his ton after lunch and got a standing ovation upon completing the feat.

On the other end, Shanto was toying with the Zimbabwe bowlers and carted them to all parts of the ground. Bangladesh camp was waiting for him to reach his ton before the declaration could come. Shanto reached 100 after playing just 109 balls and proved why he is considered one of the most exciting prospects in Bangladesh cricket. Bangladesh declared their innings at 284 for 1 with Shadman Islam unbeaten at 115 and Shanto at 117. They were leading by 477 runs.

Zimbabwe innings (2nd session):

In their pursuit of a mammoth target, Zimbabwe lost Milton Shumba early on in the innings. He was dismissed by Taskin Ahmed in his very first over off a brilliant delivery to catch the outside edge of Shumba. Zimbabwe were now 15 for 1 and looked in big trouble. Brendan Taylor came in at number 3 and blocked a few balls out before the end of the second session. Tea was taken with Zimbabwe struggling at 25 for 1.

Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Milton Shumba, 5.2 ov)

Session 3, Day 4:

Post Tea, Taylor played some phenomenal strokes and took a counter attacking approach. Kaitano on the other end played a very cautious and sedate knock and didn't want to take any chance to score runs. Taylor paced his innings like a T20 game. After entertaining the viewers with his boundary filled innings of 92, he was dismissed by the mystery bowler Mehidy Hasan Miraz. He should have been pinching the self for not reaching a ton. At this point, Zimbabwe were 110 for 2, still trailing by 367.

Kaitano was the next one to fall after his marathon knock of 7 runs in 102 balls. This must be one of the slowest knocks in Test cricket in recent times. Donald Tripano was sent in at number 5 and he batted well with Dion Myers to see off the day at a total of 140 for 3 with Zimbabwe trailing by 337 runs.

It will only be a matter of time before Bangladesh wraps up this lineup of Zimbabwe tomorrow and seal a win. However, in cricket you never know.

Fall of wickets: 1-88 (Saif Hassan, 30.2 ov), 2-110 (Brendan Taylor, 28.2 ov), 3-132 (T.Kaitano 37.2 ov)


Zimbabwe- Brendan Taylor (c), Regis Chakabwa (wk), Timycen Maruma, Milton Shumba, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Dion Myers, Roy Kaia, Donald Tripano, Blessing Muzarabani, Victor Nyauchi, Richard Ngarava

Bangladesh- Liton Das (wk) Mominul Haque (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadat Hossain.

Match Details

Start Time: 11:00

Toss: Bangladesh won toss and elected to bat first.

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Officials: Langton Rusere(Zimbabwe), Marais Erasmus(South Africa), Iknow Chabi(Zimbabwe, TV)

© Cricket World 2021