< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe: 1st Test Day 5 Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Taskin Ahmed script a huge defeat for Zimbabwe

Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Taskin Ahmed script a huge defeat for Zimbabwe at their home ground.

Match Summary

Zimbabwe 276/10 (111.5 ov) & 256/10 (94.4 ov)

Bangladesh 468/10 (126 ov) & 284/1d (67.4 ov)

Bangladesh won by 220 runs.


Session 2, Day 5:

Post lunch, Tripano and Nyauchi batted very well and kept their concentration levels high. Nyauchi struck a couple of convincing boundaries before edging one from Taskin Ahmed towards the first slip. Zimbabwe at this point were 198 for 8.

Tripano now combined with Blessing Muzarabani for the 9th wicket and moved the innings forward. Muzarabani pulled a delivery from Taskin Ahmed strongly towards the square leg for four and sent out an important message to the opposition. Tripano at the other end kept rotating the strike and gradually crept along towards his half century.

A new ball was taken by the end of the 81st over. Shakib Al Hasan was given the responsibility to run through the lower order with Tripano batting at 49. Donald Tripano tapped the first ball towards the cover for a quick single to complete a well deserved half century. Muzarabani played some good lofty drives in the same over and scored 5 runs off them. Both the batters looked very assured at the crease and looked determined to face the opposition's bowling.

Ebadot Hossain got rid off Donald Tripano when he reached 52. Richard Ngarava at number 9 showed some resistance against Zimbabwe bowlers and stitched a partnership of 17 runs for the 10th wicket before he was dismissed by Mehidy Hasan Miraz. Zimbabwe was bowled out in the second innings for 256, losing the match by 220 runs.

Fall of wickets: 8-198 (Victor Nyauchi, 75.3 ov), 9-239 (Donald Tiripano, 89.1 ov), 10-256 (Richard Ngarava, 94.4 ov)


Zimbabwe- Brendan Taylor (c), Regis Chakabwa (wk), Timycen Maruma, Milton Shumba, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Dion Myers, Roy Kaia, Donald Tripano, Blessing Muzarabani, Victor Nyauchi, Richard Ngarava

Bangladesh- Liton Das (wk) Mominul Haque (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadat Hossain.

Match Details

Start Time: 11:00

Toss: Bangladesh won toss and elected to bat first.

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Officials: Langton Rusere(Zimbabwe), Marais Erasmus(South Africa), Iknow Chabi(Zimbabwe, TV)

©Cricket World 2021