< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Barbados Tridents End Campaign With A Win

James Franklin
James Franklin hit the winning runs as Barbados Tridents ended their CLT20 campaign with a six-wicket win
©REUTERS / Action Images

Barbados Tridents 138-4 beat
Northern Knights 135-8 by six wickets (D/L)
Champions League T20 Group B, Bangalore

Barbados Tridents avoided leaving the Champions League T20 winless after beating Northern Knights by six wickets in the final group game of the tournament.

With the semi-finalists already decided, there was nothing riding on the game in terms of qualification but despite the match being a dead rubber, it proved to be intensely competitive and almost went right down to the wire.

Interrupted by rain, the game was reduced to 19 overs per side and after the New Zealand side posted 135 for eight, Barbados closed on 138 for four with two balls to spare.

Anton Devcich top scored for Knights with 47 in as many balls at the top of the order with further contributions coming from Daniel Flynn (21), BJ Watling (28) and Tim Southee (19) later on.

Ravi Rampaul returned three for 34 as the pick of the Barbados bowlers while slow bowlers Rayad Emrit (2-26) and Dilshan Munaweera (2-10) also profited.

In reply, Barbados stuttered for a while as Munaweera (20), Raymon Reifer (15) and Jason Holder (11) all made starts but failed to go on and make telling scores.

Jonathan Carter's 30 in 28 balls got them back on track and when he became Ish Sodhi's third wicket - the leg-spinner finishing with three for 18 - Barbados' hopes rested with all-rounders James Franklin and Elton Chigumbura.

The pair delivered with Franklin not out on 33 in 25 balls and Chigumbura 18 not out in 15.

Needing 12 to win from the final over, Franklin hit Southee's first ball for six and then finished off the game with another boundary three balls later.

After producing a string of starring performances in the qualifying event to get through, this defeat means Knights adventure ended with them at the bottom of the table.

© Cricket World 2014