< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Barbados Win Another CPL Thriller

Ravi Rampaul
Ravi Rampaul took four wickets to help Barbados beat Antigua
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Barbados Tridents beat the Antigua Hawksbills by one wicket with two balls remaining as the latest Caribbean Premier League 2014 match went down to the wire.

CPL 2014 Points Table

P W L Pts
1 Jamaica Tallawahs 3 3 0 6
2 T & T Red Steel 4 3 1 6
3 Guyana Amazon Warriors 5 3 2 6
4 Barbados Tridents 4 3 1 6
5 Antigua Hawksbills 5 0 5 0
6 St Lucia Zouks 3 0 3 0

After Antigua posted 129 for eight, the Tridents delighted their home crowd by closing on 130 for nine and condemn Antigua to fifth straight defeat.

Antigua made a terrible start, losing four wickets for 24 runs inside the Power Play as Ben Dunk (1), Danza Hyatt (0), Orlando Peters (10) and Devon Thomas (0) all fell cheaply.

Ravi Rampaul took three of this wickets and later removed Sheldon Cottrell to return figures of four for 15.

Marlon Samuels blasted 66 in 55 balls and with support from David Hussey (24) and Carlos Brathwaite (17) at least gave Antigua's bowlers something to defend.

Kieron Pollard picked up two for 14 and Ashley Nurse one for 25 as the Tridents finished strongly with the ball.

Dwayne Smith hit a century in Barbados' previous game but managed a five-ball duck here and that set the tone for wickets to fall throughout the run chase.

Shane Dowrich (18), Shoaib Malik (18), Jonathan Carter (35) and Pollard (14) all got in but Antigua kept themselves in the game, reducing Barbados to 85 for four and then 110 for seven.

And when Reyad Emrit was run out for five, the score was 128 for nine.

However, Barbados held their nerve with Akeal Hosein, unbeaten on 12, guiding his side to victory in the final over.

For Antigua, Cottrell took two for 20, Brathwaite two for 17, Ben Laughlin one for 34 and Brad Hogg one for 20.

Later today, a double header sees the Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel take on the Jamaica Tallawahs and Barbados back in action against the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

© Cricket World 2014