Batsmen Prosper, Bowlers Struggle In Run-Fest

Batsmen Prosper; Bowlers Struggle In Run Fest
Batsmen Prosper; Bowlers Struggle In Run Fest
©REUTERS/Punit Paranjpe. Picture Supplied by Action Images

India 337-5 (Kohli 144, Karthik 106no) beat
Sri Lanka 333-3 (Dilshan 84) by 5 wickets
ICC Champions Trophy 2013, Warm-up Match

There were runs aplenty at Edgbaston as the sun shone and India recorded a warm-up win over Sri Lanka to get their campaign for 2013 ICC Champions Trophy off to the best possible start.

Despite slipping to 110 for four, it was the 2011 World Cup winners who romped to their victory target of 334 thanks to a mammoth stand between Dinesh Karthik and Virat Kohli.

The bowling from both sides was poor, but it was Kohli and Karthik who capitalised best. Both completed centuries at comfortably better than a run a ball and put on 186 in 140 balls. When Karthik walked to the crease following the dismissal of Suresh Raina, clean-bowled by Sachithra Senanayake for a breezy 34, the required run rate stood at eight, but by the time Kohli was caught off Shaminda Eranga, it was little more than six and the game was as good as won.

Sri Lanka’s attack looked toothless and they were unable to build on the promising start that the wickets of Shikhar Dhawan (1), Murali Vijay (18) and Rohit Sharma (5) had given them. Their spin quartet of Rangana Herath, Senanayake, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Jeevan Mendis all conceded in excess of six runs per over and returned combined figures of one for 137 from 19 overs.

The back-up seam bowling was little more incisive, with none of Nuwan Kulasekara, Angelo Mathews, Shaminda Eranga, Thisara Perera or Dilhara Lokuhettige gaining significant seam movement from an Edgbaston track that was virtually underwater just 48 hours previously.

India’s bowling had been just as poor earlier and it was only the decision to retire Kushal Perera and Tillakaratne Dilshan that prevented Sri Lanka from notching a brace of centuries themselves.

Perera continues to look at home at international level and Sri Lanka had reached 160 for none after 26 overs by the time he walked off when on 82 off 94 balls. Dilshan followed soon after for 84 off 78 balls, with Mahela Jayawardene (30 off 31 balls), Kumar Sangakkara (45 off 32), Dinesh Chandimal (46 off 48) and Thisara Perera (26 off 16) all enjoying useful time at the crease as Sri Lanka waltzed past 300.

India’s spinners fared slightly better than Sri Lanka’s, with R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, although wicket-less, both going at less than a run a ball, while Amit Mishra ended with one for 53 from eight overs. It was their seamers that were familiarly lacklustre. Irfan Pathan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma and Vinay Kumar all did little to inspire confidence on a pitch that was admittedly flat. 

Both sides know that their bowling will have to improve if they are to seriously challenge in a tournament that is played with two new balls and held in England and Wales in early June.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia