< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL 10: Hurricanes pull off exciting win over Sixers in BBL opener


The Hobart Hurricanes pulled off an exciting win against current BBL Champions’ Sydney Sixers, by 16 runs, in the opening match of BBL 10 today, at the Blundstone Arena, Hobart.

Match Summary

Hobart Hurricanes 178- 8

Sydney Sixers 161-6

Result - Hobart Hurricanes won by 16 runs




The Hurricanes were asked to bat first and got off to a disastrous start losing Short and Jacks in the opening 2 overs but Colin Ingram (55) and Tim David (58) managed to get them to a respectable 178-8 in their 20 overs.

In reply, the Sixers were cruising the run chase with James Vince and Jack Edwards going well, but when they were out, the wheels came off and the defending champions were left 16 runs short.

With a couple of new rule introductions like the PowerSurge , the new BBL10 season has got off to an exciting start.


Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Will Jacks - 0.2 ov), 2-4 (D'Arcy Short - 1.1 ov), 3-59 (Peter Handscomb - 8.2 ov), 4-76 (Macalister Wright - 11.1 ov), 5-116 (Colin Ingram - 15.3 ov), 6-127 (James Faulkner - 16.4 ov), 7-152 (Nathan Ellis - 18.2 ov), 8-172 (Tim David - 19.4 ov)


Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Josh Philippe - 0.4 ov), 2-118 (James Vince - 13.4 ov), 3-120 (Jack Edwards - 14.2 ov), 4-141 (Daniel Hughes - 17.2 ov), 5-145 (Jordan Silk - 18.1 ov), 6-155 (Daniel Christian - 19.2 ov)



Hobart Hurricanes - D'Arcy Short, Will Jacks, Colin Ingram, Peter Handscomb(c)(wk), Mac Wright, Tim David, James Faulkner, Johan Botha, Nathan Ellis, Scott Boland, Riley Meredith

Sydney Sixers - Josh Philippe(wk), Jack Edwards, James Vince, Daniel Hughes(c), Jordan Silk, Daniel Christian, Carlos Brathwaite, Ben Dwarshuis, Steve O'Keefe, Ben Manenti, Gurinder Sandhu


Match Details


Start Time: 08:15

Toss: Sydney Sixers won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Officials: Sam Nogajski, Paul Wilson, Donovan Koch, Michael Graham-Smith, David Gilbert


©Cricket World 2020