< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL 11 Knockout Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers: Strikers pip Sydney Thunder by 6 runs

Ian Cockbain -  65 for Adelaide Strikers
Ian Cockbain - 65 for Adelaide Strikers

In the BBL 11 Knockout , Adelaide Strikers pipped Sydney Thunder by 6 runs to make it through to the Challenger Match, against Sydney Sixers, on Tuesday.



Match Summary

Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers, Knockout, Big Bash League

Sydney Thunder 178/6 (20 ov)

Adelaide Strikers 184/6 (20 ov)

Result - Adelaide Strikers won by 6 runs



Adelaide Strikers won the toss and elected to bat and top order batters Alex Carey (23), Matt Short (39) and Ian Cockbain (65) set them up for a competitive total of 184/6 off their 20 overs - Tanveer Sangha 2-15, off 4 overs, was easily the stand out bowler for the Thunder.

In the run chase, after the early departure of Alex Hales, the Thunder looked in good form - Usman Khawaja (23), Jason Sangha (61) and Alex Ross (56)  the stars with the bat. However, the Adelaide Strikers held their nerve towards the end and managed to win by a wisker - Harry Conway the hero with the ball in the last over for the Strikers.

The Strikers will now play the Sixers in the Challenger match, on Wednesday, to see who will play the Scorchers in the Final next Friday.

Player of the Match was Ian Cockbain


Match Stats


Adelaide Strikers Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Alex Carey - 4.3 ov), 2-91 (Matthew Short - 10.4 ov), 3-94 (Travis Head - 11.4 ov), 4-146 (Ian Cockbain - 15.5 ov), 5-151 (Jonathan Wells - 16.3 ov), 6-182 (Thomas Kelly - 19.5 ov)

Sydney Thunder Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Alex Hales - 2.1 ov), 2-56 (Usman Khawaja - 6.3 ov), 3-146 (Jason Sangha - 16.2 ov), 4-150 (Daniel Sams - 16.6 ov), 5-176 (Alex Ross - 19.4 ov), 6-176 (Ben Cutting - 19.5 ov)


Playing XIs

Sydney Thunder - Alex Hales, Usman Khawaja(c), Matthew Gilkes(wk), Jason Sangha, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Ben Cutting, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Green, Gurinder Sandhu, Tanveer Sangha

Adelaide Strikers - Matt Short, Alex Carey(wk), Ian Cockbain, Travis Head, Jonathan Wells, Matthew Renshaw, Thomas Kelly, Henry Thornton, Peter Siddle(c), Harry Conway, Fawad Ahmed


Match Details

Start Time: 08:15

Toss: Adelaide Strikers won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Officials: Donovan Koch, Phillip Gillespie, Ben Treloar, David Taylor, Kent Hannam

©Cricket World 2022