< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL 11 Match 50 Match Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder: Sixers come out winners in Sydney Derby

Steve O’Keefe Sixers celebrates
Steve O’Keefe Sixers celebrates
Sydney Sixers celebrate a wicket
Sydney Sixers celebrate a wicket

Sydney Sixers came out winners against Sydney Thunder, in their Derby Big Bash League encounter, at the SCG, today.

Match Summary

Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder, 50th Match, Big Bash League

Sydney Sixers 197/5 (20 ov)

Sydney Thunder 138/9 (20 ov)

Result - Sydney Sixers won by 60 runs


After Sydney Thunder had won the toss and elected to field, the Sydney Sixers smacked a creditable 197/5 in their 20 overs.  Josh Philippe 57, Dan Hughes 66 and Moises Henriques 47* were the main run getters and Daniel Sams and Nathan McAndrew both took two wickets apiece for the Thunder.

In reply, the Thunder got off to a great start but then lost three quick wickets - two to veteran Steve O'Keefe in his first over. After that, it was tough going in the run chase for the Thunder, in this Sydney derby match.

Steve O'Keefe finished with figures of 4-18 as the Sixers won by 60 runs.

Player of the Match was Steve O'Keefe.


Match Stats

Sydney Sixers Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Jack Edwards - 1.2 ov), 2-87 (Josh Philippe - 10.6 ov), 3-164 (Daniel Hughes - 17.6 ov), 4-168 (Daniel Christian - 18.2 ov), 5-176 (Jordan Silk - 18.5 ov)

Sydney Thunder Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Matthew Gilkes - 3.1 ov), 2-42 (Alex Hales - 5.1 ov), 3-42 (Alex Ross - 5.4 ov), 4-58 (Daniel Sams - 9.1 ov), 5-61 (Oliver Davies - 9.5 ov), 6-62 (Nathan McAndrew - 10.2 ov), 7-79 (Jason Sangha - 12.4 ov), 8-80 (Gurinder Sandhu - 12.5 ov), 9-136 (Chris Green - 19.4 ov)


Playing XIs

Sydney Sixers: Jack Edwards, Josh Philippe (WK), Daniel Hughes, Moises Henriques (C), Jordan Silk, Daniel Christian, Sean Abbott, Hayden Kerr, Ben Dwarshuis, Jackson Bird, Steve O'Keefe, Mickey Edwards, Todd Murphy

Sydney Thunder: Matthew Gilkes(wk), Alex Hales, Jason Sangha, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Oliver Davies, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Green(c), Gurinder Sandhu, Tanveer Sangha, Mohammad Hasnain

Match Details

Start Time: January 15, 2022 07:40

Toss: Sydney Thunder won the toss and elected to bowl

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Officials: Umpires: Gerard Abood, Phillip Gillespie   Tv Umpires:  Ben Treloar   Match Referee: Kent Hannam

© Cricket World 2O22