< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL|12 Match 30: Matthew Short century crucial in Strikers chase

Matthew Short saves the game for Adelaide Strikers

Matthew Short century leads Adelaide Strikers in unbelievable chase, as they defeat Hobart Hurricanes by 7 wickets in a run fest today at Adelaide Oval.

Match Summary

Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes, 30th Match, Big Bash League

Adelaide Strikers 230/3 (19.3 ov)

Hobart Hurricanes 229/4 (20 ov)

Adelaide Strikers won by 7 wickets


Adelaide Strikers won the toss and elected to bowl, probably regretting that decision quite quickly as Hurricanes openers Ben McDermott (57) and Caleb Jewell (54) raced off to half centuries.

Colin de Grandhomme (2/45) provided some obstacles for the batsmen but it wasn't enough, as Zak Crawley (54*) chipped in a half century of his own.

As if enough damage hadn't already been done Tim David (39*) made sure there was little chance of a fight back as they headed in at 229/4.

Adelaide Strikers were up for the challenge though, Matthew Short (100*) lead the charge with a impressive century to get them off the mark.

Chris Lynn (64) and Adam Hose (38) added some important runs to get them within striking distance before Matthew Short finished things off.

It was an unbelievable chase, resulting in Adelaide Strikers winning by 7 wickets.

Match Stats

Hobart Hurricanes Fall of wickets: 1-88 (Caleb Jewell - 7.2 ov), 2-120 (Ben McDermott - 10.4 ov), 3-126 (Matthew Wade - 11.3 ov), 4-140 (Mitchell Owen - 13.3 ov)

Adelaide Strikers Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Ryan Gibson - 1.5 ov), 2-132 (Chris Lynn - 11.3 ov), 3-205 (Adam Hose - 17.6 ov)

Playing XI

Adelaide Strikers: Ryan Gibson, Matthew Short (C), Chris Lynn, Adam Hose, Colin de Grandhomme, Thomas Kelly, Harry Nielsen (WK), Rashid Khan, Wes Agar, Henry Thornton, Harry Conway.

Hobart Hurricanes: Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Matthew Wade (WK/C), Zak Crawley, Tim David, Asif Ali, Mitchell Owen, Faheem Ashraf, Nathan Ellis, Paddy Dooley, Riley Meredith.

Match Details

Date: Thursday, January 5, 2023 08:15

Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Toss: Adelaide Strikers won the toss & elected to field

Officials: Umpires: Bruce Oxenford(Australia), Paul Wilson(Australia), Eloise Sheridan(Australia TV)

Match Referee: Simon Fry(Australia)

© Cricket World 2023