BBL 2017/18 - Game 2 Preview - Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars

Brendon McCullum - Brisbane Heat skipper for the BBL 2017/18 season

The BBL is underway in Australia and with the first match going to a thrilling final ball outcome, Sydney Thunder winning by 5 wickets over Sydney Sixers, it is certainly set for a fantastic spectacle this year.

The BBL 2017/18 will be the biggest and best tournament to date with many of the Worlds’ top T20 cricket players making an appearance.

Now let’s take a look at Game 2 – Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars…….

Brisbane Heat

Brisbane Heat will be buoyed by the recent contract extension by former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum, coming on the back of his 281 runs from 12 matches in the recently concluded BPL tournament for winners Rangpur Riders. The 3 year contract for McCullum follows after top-order batsman Chris Lynn also signed a five-year contract extension with the Brisbane Heat back in October. (McCullum scored 323 runs from 8 matches last year at an average of 46 and a strike-rate close to 171)

Brisbane Heat general manager Andrew McShea commented

"Brendon's impact on our club on and off the field is significant and the values that he represents are also those that we see as integral to the Brisbane Heat.

"To extend his contract through to the end of BBL|09, provides our fans, members and commercial partners with a clear identity of our club."

Some serious hitting here with Brendan McCullum and Chris Lynn – but weak on the bowling attack which will be lacking in variety, although Shadab Khan could surprise, if picked for their opening game, with extra bounce enjoyed by leg spinners down under.

Brisbane Heat Squad: Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Jason Floros, Sam Heazlett, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn, Brendon McCullum(c), Jimmy Peirson, Alex Ross, Mitchell Swepson, Shadab Khan, Mark Steketee.

Melbourne Stars

A potentially powerful batting line up, albeit slightly long in the tooth apart from last year’s top scorer Ben Dunk. Kevin Pietersen will be looking to score big on this global tournament stage to bolster any thoughts of prolonging his career and Luke Wright, if selected, will also be keen to get a good score in this opening match for the Melbourne Stars.

Melbourne Stars Squad: Ben Dunk, Jackson Coleman, Michael Beer, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Sam Harper, John Hastings(c), Ben Hilfenhaus, Glenn Maxwell, Kevin Pietersen, Rob Quiney, Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Worrall, Luke Wright, Adam Zampa 

Our tip for the outcome of the match – Melbourne Stars to win. For more on the Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Stars betting tips simply go to any online cricket betting site and check out their odds on the game.

For all the latest news and scores you can visit our dedicated BBL 2017/18 section and read up on our predictions for all the BBL Squads and also watch the Who Will Win BBL 2017/18 video.