< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL 2021/22 Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes: Short and Siddle combine for Strikers win

Adelaide Strikers' Matthew Short 89 (48)
Adelaide Strikers' Matthew Short 89 (48)
Peter Siddle celebrates a wicket
Peter Siddle celebrates a wicket

A sensational knock from Matthew Short, and important wickets from Peter Siddle saw Adelaide Strikers to a 22 run win over Hobart Hurricanes today at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Match Summary

Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes, Eliminator, Big Bash League

Adelaide Strikers 188/6 (20 ov)

Hobart Hurricanes 166/10 (19.4 ov)

Result - Adelaide Strikers won by 22 runs.


Adelaide Strikers won the toss and elected to bat, their openers getting off the mark strong, Alex Carey (67) and Matthew Short (89) smashing half centuries early on.

From that point on the Hurricanes bowlers took over, Riley Meredith (2/37) and Tom Rogers (2/37) doing what they could to restrict Strikers.

The damage however had been done, the Strikers openers setting them up for 188/6.

In response Hurricanes showed some fight, Caleb Jewell (35) and D'Arcy Short (56) combining to add some big runs.

It wasn't enough though, as Peter Siddle (4/32) moved up a gear to bowl Hurricanes out, leading Adelaide Strikers to a 22 run win.

Match Stats

Adelaide Strikers Fall of wickets: 1-145 (Alex Carey - 14.2 ov), 2-164 (Matthew Short - 15.6 ov), 3-169 (Travis Head - 17.2 ov), 4-169 (Ian Cockbain - 17.4 ov), 5-179 (Matt Renshaw - 19.1 ov), 6-184 (Thomas Kelly - 19.5 ov)

Hobart Hurricanes Fall of wickets: Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Ben McDermott - 0.3 ov), 2-28 (Matthew Wade - 3.6 ov), 3-67 (Caleb Jewell - 9.1 ov), 4-122 (D'Arcy Short - 14.3 ov), 5-122 (Peter Handscomb - 14.4 ov), 6-128 (Jordan Thompson - 15.4 ov), 7-130 (Tom Rogers - 16.1 ov), 8-147 (Tim David - 17.2 ov), 9-152 (Wil Parker - 17.5 ov), 10-166 (Riley Meredith - 19.4 ov)

Playing XIs

ADELAIDE STRIKERS - Alex Carey (WK), Matthew Short, Ian Cockbain, Travis Head, Jonathan Wells, Matt Renshaw, Thomas Kelly, Henry Thornton, Peter Siddle (C), Harry Conway, Fawad Ahmed, Jake Weatherald, Daniel Worrall

HOBART HURRICANES - Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott (WK), Matthew Wade (C), D'Arcy Short, Peter Handscomb, Tim David, Jordan Thompson, Tom Rogers, Wil Parker, Scott Boland, Riley Meredith, Mitchell Owen, Macalister Wright

Match Details

Date - 21st January 08:15 AM

Venue - Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Toss - Adelaide Strikers won the toss & elected to bat

Umpires - Gerard Abood, Troy Penman

© Cricket World 2022