< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL 2021/22 Match 10: Melbourne Stars take down Sydney Thunder by 6 wickets

Melbourne Stars beat Sydney Thunder by 6 wickets in the 10th Match of the Big Bash League 2021/22, at the Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney today.

Match Summary

Sydney Thunder 151/5 (20 ov)

Melbourne Stars 155/4 (17.1 ov)

Result - Melbourne Stars won by 6 wickets



After Melbourne Stars won the toss and decided to field, the Thunder batters made heavy weather of the batting surface and at 40/3, in the 7th over , were in danger of capitulating. However, Alex Ross 77* (49) and Dan Sams 22 (18) got them to a respectable 151/5 off their 20 overs. Qais Ahmad 2-14, off his allotted 4 overs, was the pick of the bowlers for the Stars.

In reply, the Stars romped to a six wicket victory mainly thanks to an explosive innings from Andre Russell 42* (21) and, prior to that ,Marcus Stoinis 31 and Glenn Maxwell 40. Tanveer Sangha  2-20 was the pick of the bowlers for Thunder.


Match Stats

Sydney Thunder Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Sam Whiteman - 3.2 ov), 2-33 (Matthew Gilkes - 4.5 ov), 3-40 (Alex Hales - 6.1 ov), 4-65 (Sam Billings - 11.5 ov), 5-149 (Daniel Sams - 19.5 ov)

Melbourne Stars Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Joe Clarke - 2.1 ov), 2-24 (Nick Larkin - 4.2 ov), 3-83 (Marcus Stoinis - 11.2 ov), 4-83 (Glenn Maxwell - 11.3 ov)




Playing XIs

Sydney Thunder - Alex Hales, Sam Whiteman, Matthew Gilkes, Sam Billings(wk), Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Ben Cutting, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Green(c), Gurinder Sandhu, Tanveer Sangha

Melbourne Stars - Marcus Stoinis, Joe Clarke(wk), Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell(c), Hilton Cartwright, Beau Webster, Andre Russell, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa, Qais Ahmad, Brody Couch


Match Details

Start Time: 08:15

Toss: Melbourne Stars won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney

Officials: Ben Treloar, Gerard Abood, Phillip Gillespie, Troy Penman, David Gilbert

©Cricket World 2021