< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL 2021/22 Match 45 Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Sixers: Dwarshuis bowls over Renegades for a Sixers win

Sydney Sixers' Moises Henriques
Sydney Sixers' Moises Henriques

After a knock from Moises Henriques, Ben Dwarshuis stole the show with a crucial 5 wickets, to bowl Melbourne Renegades out, leading Sydney Sixers to a 45 run win today, at the Simonds Stadium, South Geelong, Victoria.

Match Summary

Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Sixers, 45th Match, Big Bash League

Melbourne Renegades 105/10 (17 ov)

Sydney Sixers 150/6 (20 ov)

Result - Sydney Sixers won by 45 runs.


Sydney Sixers won the toss and elected to bat, things did not started particularly well, Cameron Boyce (2/15) taking some early wickets.

Jack Edwards (40) and Moises Henriques (49) added some crucial runs though to get Sixers to a competitive score of 150/6.

In reponse both Renegades openers were gone LBW within the space of 2 overs, the start Sixers would need.

Shaun Marsh (39) added some important runs, but it was an all round brilliant bowling performance from Sixers, everyone getting amongst the wickets. 

Ben Dwarshuis (5/26) was the Player of the Match, leading Sydney Sixers to a 45 run win.

Match Stats

Sydney Sixers Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Josh Philippe - 0.3 ov), 2-44 (Daniel Hughes - 6.4 ov), 3-71 (Jack Edwards - 10.1 ov), 4-124 (Daniel Christian - 16.6 ov), 5-144 (Moises Henriques - 19.1 ov), 6-144 (Shadab Khan - 19.2 ov)

Melbourne Renegades Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Jake Fraser-McGurk - 0.5 ov), 2-11 (Aaron Finch - 1.4 ov), 3-41 (Nic Maddinson - 7.5 ov), 4-65 (Mackenzie Harvey - 11.2 ov), 5-68 (Shaun Marsh - 12.1 ov), 6-73 (Will Sutherland - 13.1 ov), 7-85 (Sam Harper - 13.4 ov), 8-85 (Cameron Boyce - 14.1 ov), 9-105 (Josh Lalor - 16.3 ov), 10-105 (Zahir Khan - 16.6 ov)

Playing XI

MELBOURNE RENEGADES - Jake Fraser-McGurk, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Nic Maddinson (C), Mackenzie Harvey, Sam Harper (WK), Will Sutherland, Cameron Boyce, Kane Richardson, Josh Lalor, Zahir Khan, Zak Evans, Jonathan Merlo

SYDNEY SIXERS - Jack Edwards, Josh Philippe (WK), Daniel Hughes, Moises Henriques (C), Shadab Khan, Daniel Christian, Sean Abbott, Hayden Kerr, Ben Dwarshuis, Jackson Bird, Todd Murphy, Lloyd Pope, Justin Avendano

Match Details

Date - 11th January, 08:15 AM

Venue - Simonds Stadium, South Geelong, Victoria, Geelong

Toss - Sydney Sixers won the toss & elected to bat

Umpires - David Taylor, Michael Graham-Smith

© Cricket World 2022