< >
Cricket Betting us

BBL 2021/22: Mitchell Marsh the difference in Scorchers win

Perth Scorchers won by 21 runs.
Perth Scorchers won by 21 runs.

Perth Scorchers boosted by Mitchell Marsh 84, as they beat Melbourne Renegades by 21 runs today in the BBL 11 at the Docklands Stadium, Melbourne.

Match Summary

Melbourne Renegades vs Perth Scorchers, 17th Match, Big Bash League

Melbourne Renegades 185/5 (20 ov)

Perth Scorchers 206/5 (20 ov)

Result - Perth Scorchers won by 21 runs.


Perth Scorchers won the toss and elected to bat, Cameron Bancroft (24) adding some runs early before Mitchell Marsh (84) joined the fray and stole the show.

Scorchers were in a great position already, but once the likes of Colin Munro (20) and Ashton Turner (20) were boosted by Laurie Evans (42*) it looked all but wrapped up.

Perth Scorchers went in at 206/5, leaving their bowlers an easier job than usual. And things went to plan, Mackenzie Harvey (0) gone on the 2nd ball of the innings.

Things did however pick up for the hosts, Aaron Finch (68) and Nic Maddinson (67) adding some big half centuries but it wasn't quite enough.

In the end, despite some usually match winning efforts from the Renegades, Perth Scorchers took this one by 21 runs.

Match Stats

Perth Scorchers Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Josh Inglis - 1.4 ov), 2-68 (Cameron Bancroft - 8.3 ov), 3-138 (Colin Munro - 15.4 ov), 4-139 (Mitchell Marsh - 15.6 ov), 5-192 (Ashton Turner - 19.2 ov)

Melbourne Renegades Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Mackenzie Harvey - 0.2 ov), 2-130 (Nic Maddinson - 13.1 ov), 3-141 (Aaron Finch - 15.2 ov), 4-142 (Mohammad Nabi - 15.4 ov), 5-172 (Jake Fraser-McGurk - 19.2 ov)

Playing XIs

MELBOURNE RENEGADES - Mackenzie Harvey, Aaron Finch, Nic Maddinson (C), Sam Harper (WK), Jake Fraser-McGurk, Mohammad Nabi, Will Sutherland, James Pattinson, Kane Richardson, Reece Topley, Zahir Khan, Jack Prestwidge, James Seymour

PERTH SCORCHERS - Cameron Bancroft, Josh Inglis (WK), Mitchell Marsh, Colin Munro, Ashton Turner (C), Laurie Evans, Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Hatzoglou, Tymal Mills, Matthew Kelly, Nick Hobson

Match Details

Date: 22nd December, 08:15 AM

Venue: Docklands Stadium, Melbourne, Melbourne

Toss: Perth Scorchers won the toss & elected to bat

Umpires: Ben Treloar, Donovan Marius Koch

© Cricket World 2021