< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL10 Challenger: Perth Scorchers outclass Brisbane Heat to reach BBL10 Final

Fawad Ahmed celebrates
Fawad Ahmed celebrates

Blistering hitting from the Scorchers, put them into the BBL10 Final against the Sixers, after they beat Brisbane Heat, at the Manuka Oval, Canberra today.

Match Summary

Perth Scorchers 189/1 (18.1 ov)

Brisbane Heat  150/9 (18 ov)

Result – Perth Scorchers won by 49 runs (D/L)



Match Highlights

Batting first, the Scorchers scored an impressive 189/1 in 18.1 overs, before the rain interrupted play, Cameron Bancroft 58*, Liam Livingstone 77 and Mitchell Marsh 49* the run getters, losing just one wicket in the process.

Fall of wickets: 1-114 (Liam Livingstone - 11.1 ov)


In reply, the Heat were always under pressure and in the 4th over Jason Behrendorff removed both openers Denly (14) and Lynn (22) and the Heat were in big trouble.

When the next two wickets fell 3-44 (Sam Heazlett - 6.1 ov) and 4-57 (Marnus Labuschagne - 7.3 ov) the run chase was over for the Heat and the game was the Scorchers for the taking.

Brisbane Heat ended up totalling 150/9 losing out to the Scorchers by 49 runs (D/L)

Fall of wickets: 1-37 (Joe Denly - 3.5 ov), 2-37 (Chris Lynn - 3.6 ov), 3-44 (Sam Heazlett - 6.1 ov), 4-57 (Marnus Labuschagne - 7.3 ov), 5-78 (Jimmy Peirson - 10.2 ov), 6-88 (Lewis Gregory - 11.3 ov), 7-121 (Joe Burns - 14.6 ov), 8-134 (Xavier Bartlett - 15.5 ov), 9-138 (Morne Morkel - 16.4 ov)

After the match, Liam Livingstone said;

“I think the way we played was pretty much perfect, the way Cameron Bancroft anchored the innings and Mitch and I went from the other end was pretty much how we had planned it.

“In our batting innings we want partnerships and in our bowling innings we want wickets, we did both of those tonight.

“People back in WA are doing it tough with the bushfires and lockdown, we owed it to them today to put on a performance and hopefully they’ll be backing us on Saturday.”

Saturday’s Final will be the fourth time the Scorchers have faced the Sixers in the BBL season decider.


Playing XIs


Perth Scorchers - Cameron Bancroft, Liam Livingstone, Colin Munro, Josh Inglis(wk), Mitchell Marsh, Ashton Turner(c), Aaron Hardie, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Fawad Ahmed

Brisbane Heat - Sam Heazlett, Chris Lynn(c), Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Denly, Joe Burns, Jimmy Peirson(wk), Lewis Gregory, Mark Steketee, Xavier Bartlett, Mitchell Swepson, Ben Laughlin, Morne Morkel



Match Details

Start Time: 08:40

Toss: Brisbane Heat won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Officials: Gerard Abood, Shawn Craig, Paul Wilson, Sam Nogajski, Robert Stratford


© Cricket World 2021