< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL10 Final: Sydney Sixers pull off exciting win over Perth Scorchers at the SCG

Moises Henriques (c) Sydney Sixers celebrates
Moises Henriques (c) Sydney Sixers celebrates
James Vince 95 for the Sixers in the Final - Player of the Match
James Vince 95 for the Sixers in the Final - Player of the Match

The Sydney Sixers pulled off an exciting 28 run win over the Scorchers, in the BBL10 Final at the SCG today, in front of their ecstatic home fans.


Match Summary

Sydney Sixers 188/6 (20 ov)

Perth Scorchers 160/9 (20 ov)

Result – Sixers won by 28 runs




Match Highlights

Perth Scorchers won the toss and decided to field, and it was James Vince 98 (61) who lit up the Sixers fans, with a fantastic knock, at the SCG. Vince hit sweetly throughout his innings and was out with the score 140/4 with just under 5 overs to go.

The Sixers ended up with a competitive 188/6 - Jhye Richardson 2-28, Andrew Tye 2-29 and Fawad Ahmed 1-16 were the wicket takers for the Scorchers.

Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Josh Philippe - 3.3 ov), 2-66 (Daniel Hughes - 7.4 ov), 3-114 (Moises Henriques - 12.6 ov), 4-140 (James Vince - 15.1 ov), 5-177 (Daniel Christian - 18.6 ov), 6-188 (Carlos Brathwaite - 19.6 ov)

In the run chase, the Scorchers started well with Cameron Bancroft (30) and Liam Livingstone (45) putting on 45 in 4.5 overs. But after these two were out, the chase became a mountain to climb with the Scorchers needing 63 from the last 4 overs.

It was too big an ask for the Scorchers and they finished up with 160/9 and the Sixers won by 28 runs.

Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Cameron Bancroft - 4.5 ov), 2-57 (Colin Munro - 6.4 ov), 3-95 (Liam Livingstone - 10.6 ov), 4-116 (Mitchell Marsh - 14.2 ov), 5-117 (Josh Inglis - 14.4 ov), 6-142 (Ashton Turner - 17.1 ov), 7-157 (Aaron Hardie - 18.3 ov), 8-159 (Andrew Tye - 19.3 ov), 9-160 (Jhye Richardson - 19.5 ov)



After the match, Scorchers captain Ashton Turner said;


“Unfortunately, tonight wasn’t our night, the Sydney Sixers were too good - they’ve been the best team over the past two seasons and deserve the win.

“They played the conditions really well, they can be tough to beat especially at the SCG, so credit to them.

“We’ve had such a long and successful campaign and there’s so many positives we can take out of the last couple of months.

“I want to thank our Partners and our incredible fans for their support throughout the tournament, the WACA and Cricket Australia.

“I know a mountain of work has gone behind the scenes to get this tournament off the ground and to be able to play the Final in front of so many people tonight was incredible.

“The group was been really resilient to make it to the Final and although tonight’s result hurts, we’re proud of the relatively successful season we’ve had.”


Playing XIs

Sydney Sixers - Josh Philippe(wk), James Vince, Daniel Hughes, Moises Henriques(c), Jordan Silk, Daniel Christian, Carlos Brathwaite, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Steve O'Keefe, Jackson Bird

Perth Scorchers - Cameron Bancroft, Liam Livingstone, Colin Munro, Josh Inglis(wk), Mitchell Marsh, Ashton Turner(c), Aaron Hardie, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Fawad Ahmed


Match Details

Start Time: 08:40

Toss: Perth Scorchers won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Officials: Paul Wilson, Sam Nogajski, Gerard Abood, Shawn Craig, Robert Stratford


© Cricket World 2021