< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL10: Melbourne Stars undone by the Perth Scorchers at the MCG

Livingstone and Roy (Perth Scorchers)
Livingstone and Roy (Perth Scorchers)

Perth Scorchers were just too good for the Stars at the MCG today, coming out winners by 11 runs.

Match Summary

Melbourne Stars 171/6 (20 ov)

Perth Scorchers 182/4 (20 ov)

Result - Scorchers won by 11 runs




Melbourne Stars won the toss and decided to field and Perth Scorchers England pair, Jason Roy and Liam Livingstone, took full advantage opening up, taking 45 off the first 5 overs.

Livingstone fell in the 10th over for 24 and Roy soon after for 54. Colin Munro and Josh Inglis then took up the charge, scoring 46* and 26 respectively, with a cameo knock by skipper Turner 19* taking the Scorchers to a competitive total of 182/4 off their 20 overs.

Fall of wickets: 1-83 (Liam Livingstone - 9.4 ov), 2-87 (Jason Roy - 10.3 ov), 3-139 (Josh Inglis - 16.2 ov), 4-149 (Mitchell Marsh - 17.2 ov)

In reply, the Stars stuttered in their run chase, losing wickets regularly, and at 42/3 in the 8th over were in some trouble. Despite a battling innings from Nick Larkin (70 off 44), the Stars were unable to get on top of the bowlers enough to get them close to the Scorchers’ total of 182/4.

Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Marcus Stoinis - 3.2 ov), 2-35 (Seb Gotch - 5.3 ov), 3-42 (Glenn Maxwell - 7.1 ov), 4-104 (Nic Maddinson - 12.6 ov), 5-114 (Nathan Coulter-Nile - 13.6 ov), 6-142 (Nick Larkin - 17.5 ov)

The Perth Scorchers now go top of the BBL10 Points Table.





Playing XIs

Melbourne Stars - Marcus Stoinis, Seb Gotch(wk), Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell(c), Nic Maddinson, Hilton Cartwright, Clint Hinchliffe, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa, Billy Stanlake, Zahir Khan

Perth Scorchers - Jason Roy, Liam Livingstone, Colin Munro, Josh Inglis(wk), Mitchell Marsh, Ashton Turner(c), Aaron Hardie, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Fawad Ahmed


Match Details


Start Time: 08:15

Toss: Melbourne Stars won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Officials: Michael Graham-Smith, Phillip Gillespie, Shawn Craig, Mattis van Eck, Kent Hannam


©Cricket World 2021