< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL10: Sixers come up short against Hurricanes at the MCG

D'Arcy Short and Dawid Malan (Hurricanes)
D'Arcy Short and Dawid Malan (Hurricanes)

Top knocks from openers D'Arcy Short (72) and Matthew Wade (86) gave the Hurricanes a great platform batting first, after being put into bat by the Sixers.

The Hurricanes total of 188/8 proved to be just enough as they beat the Sixers by 7 runs.


Match Summary

Sydney Sixers 181/8 (20 ov)

Hobart Hurricanes 188/8 (20 ov)

Result - Hurricanes won by 7 runs





Sydney Sixers won the toss and decided to field against the Hurricanes, who scored 188 – 6 , which should have been a lot more as they were 145/0 in the 15th over. However, some great bowling in the last few overs saw the Sixers fight back taking 8-43 off 33 balls in the last quarter of the innings, restricting the Hurricanes from getting over the 190 + mark.

Jake Ball, Ben Dwarshuis and Sean Abbott all took 2 wickets apiece for the Sixers.


Fall of wickets: 1-145 (Matthew Wade - 14.3 ov), 2-154 (Ben McDermott - 15.4 ov), 3-172 (D'Arcy Short - 17.4 ov), 4-174 (Will Jacks - 18.1 ov), 5-176 (Dawid Malan - 18.3 ov), 6-187 (Nathan Ellis - 19.3 ov), 7-187 (Tim David - 19.4 ov), 8-188 (Scott Boland - 19.6 ov)


In reply, the Sixers got close but not close enough. Jordan Silk 78 (49) played beautifully, but was out with 2 balls to go and they came up 7 runs short in the run chase.


Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Josh Philippe - 2.3 ov), 2-31 (James Vince - 3.4 ov), 3-37 (Daniel Hughes - 4.6 ov), 4-107 (Moises Henriques - 11.4 ov), 5-107 (Daniel Christian - 11.5 ov), 6-116 (Carlos Brathwaite - 14.1 ov), 7-135 (Sean Abbott - 16.2 ov), 8-176 (Jordan Silk - 19.4 ov)

Player of the Match - Matthew Wade




Playing XIs

Sydney Sixers - Josh Philippe(wk), James Vince, Daniel Hughes, Moises Henriques(c), Jordan Silk, Daniel Christian, Carlos Brathwaite, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Ben Manenti, Jake Ball

Hobart Hurricanes - D'Arcy Short, Matthew Wade(c), Ben McDermott(wk), Dawid Malan, Peter Handscomb, Will Jacks, Nathan Ellis, Nick Winter, Scott Boland, Riley Meredith, Sandeep Lamichhane, Tim David



Match Details


Start Time: 08:15

Toss: Sydney Sixers won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Officials: Darren Close, Shawn Craig, Claire Polosak, David Taylor, Kent Hannam


© Cricket World 2021