< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL10: Sixers overcome the Heat in last ball thriller in Carrara

Dan Christian and Dan Hughes (Sixers)
Dan Christian and Dan Hughes (Sixers)

Dan Christian saw the Sydney Sixers home against Brisbane Heat, off the last ball of the match, in what turned out to be a thrilling match at the Metricon Stadium, Carrara today


Match Summary

Sydney Sixers 152/7 (20)

Brisbane Heat 148/10 (20)

Result - Sydney Sixers won by 3 wickets



The Sydney Sixers won the toss and elected to bowl against the Brisbane Heat and they made a good job of winning the toss, reducing the Heat to 148 all out in their 20 overs – Chris Lynn (56) was the pick of the batsmen for the Heat, assisted by Lewis Gregory (26) in the middle of the order - Carlos Brathwaite (4-18) and Jake Ball (3-25) the pick of the bowlers for the Sixers.


Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Max Bryant - 1.6 ov), 2-29 (Joe Denly - 3.4 ov), 3-43 (Joe Burns - 6.6 ov), 4-94 (Jimmy Peirson - 14.2 ov), 5-110 (Chris Lynn - 15.2 ov), 6-111 (James Bazley - 15.4 ov), 7-137 (Jack Wildermuth - 17.4 ov), 8-140 (Mark Steketee - 18.4 ov), 9-142 (Lewis Gregory - 19.1 ov), 10-148 (Mujeeb Ur Rahman - 19.6 ov)


In reply, the Sixers got home, off the final ball of the match, winning by 3 wickets thanks to Dan Christian (61*) and Dan Hughes (51)

Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Josh Philippe - 1.5 ov), 2-26 (James Vince - 4.2 ov), 3-37 (Jack Edwards - 5.4 ov), 4-54 (Jordan Silk - 8.4 ov), 5-126 (Daniel Hughes - 16.3 ov), 6-130 (Carlos Brathwaite - 17.3 ov), 7-133 (Steve O'Keefe - 18.3 ov)


Playing XIs


Sydney Sixers - Josh Philippe(wk), Jack Edwards, James Vince, Daniel Hughes(c), Jordan Silk, Daniel Christian, Carlos Brathwaite, Steve O'Keefe, Jackson Bird, Jake Ball, Lloyd Pope

Brisbane Heat - Max Bryant, Chris Lynn(c), Joe Denly, Joe Burns, Jimmy Peirson(wk), Lewis Gregory, James Bazley, Jack Wildermuth, Mark Steketee, Xavier Bartlett, Mujeeb Ur Rahman


Match Details


Start Time: 08:15

Toss: Sydney Sixers won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Metricon Stadium, Carrara

Officials: Greg Davidson, Anthony Wilds, Gerard Abood, Phillip Gillespie, Robert Stratford


©Cricket World 2021