< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL10: Sydney Sixers beat Adelaide Strikers by 7 wickets at the Metricon Stadium

Josh Philippe (Sixers)
Josh Philippe (Sixers)

Sydney Sixers comfortably beat the Adelaide Strikers by 7 wickets at the Metricon Stadium, Carrara today, to go top of the BBL10 table.


Match Summary

Adelaide Strikers 150/4 (20)

Sydney Sixers    151/3 (18)

Result - Sydney Sixers   won by 7 wickets




Sydney Sixers won the toss and decided to field, and Adelaide Strikers managed a creditable 150/4, in the circumstances, with Alex Carey 31, Jonathan Wells 66 and 34* all contributing with the bat.

Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Philip Salt - 0.4 ov), 2-7 (Matt Renshaw - 1.3 ov), 3-71 (Alex Carey - 12.2 ov), 4-150 (Jonathan Wells - 19.6 ov)


In reply, the Sixers were looking on track at 47/0 after 4 overs. Then Rashid Khan came on to bowl and everything changed. Khan took 3-14 off a 3 over spell reducing the Sixers to 80/3 off 10.2 overs. But Vince and Silk rallied and took 19 off a Peter Siddle over and the match swung back in the Sixers favour.

At 109/3 off 13 overs, it was a run a ball to win for the Sixers. Rashid Khan had one over left and bowled the 14th over. However, Vince and Silk survived, and Khan finished with 3-18 off his 4 overs.

Vince 45* and Silk 38* then took the Sixers comfortably home by 7 wickets with 2 overs to spare.


Fall of wickets: 1-47 (Jack Edwards - 4.2 ov), 2-58 (Josh Philippe - 6.2 ov), 3-80 (Daniel Hughes - 10.2 ov)

Josh Philippe was Player of the Match for his innings of 41 off 24 balls.



Playing XIs


Adelaide Strikers - Jake Weatherald, Philip Salt, Matthew Renshaw, Alex Carey(c)(wk), Jonathan Wells, Ryan Gibson, Rashid Khan, Daniel Worrall, Danny Briggs, Wes Agar, Peter Siddle

Sydney Sixers - Josh Philippe(wk), Jack Edwards, James Vince, Daniel Hughes(c), Jordan Silk, Daniel Christian, Carlos Brathwaite, Ben Dwarshuis, Ben Manenti, Jake Ball, Lloyd Pope



Match Details

Start Time: 08:15

Toss: Sydney Sixers won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Metricon Stadium, Carrara

Officials: Greg Davidson, Anthony Wilds, David Taylor, Steven Farrell, Kepler Wessels



© Cricket World 2021