< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL10: Sydney Sixers demolish Perth Scorchers in BBL Qualifier at the Manuka Oval

James Vince 98*
James Vince 98*
James Vince 98* is congratuled by his teammates
James Vince 98* is congratuled by his teammates

Sixers batsman James Vince smashed a brilliant 98* to take the Sixers into the BBL Final, beating the Scorchers by 9 wickets in the Qualifier, at the Manuka Oval, Canberra today.


Match Summary

Sydney Sixers  168/1 (17.1 ov)

Perth Scorchers 167/6 (20 ov)

Result - Sydney Sixers won by 9 wickets



Match Highlights

Perth Scorchers won the toss and decided to bat first, scoring a par total of 167/6boff their 20 overs. Josh Inglis 68 and Ashton Turner 33 top scored and Steve O'Keefe 1-20 and Carlos Brathwaite 1-25 were miserly with the ball although Ben Dwarshuis was the leading wicket taker with 2-40.

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Jason Roy - 2.1 ov), 2-39 (Liam Livingstone - 5.4 ov), 3-81 (Colin Munro - 11.4 ov), 4-85 (Mitchell Marsh - 12.5 ov), 5-144 (Ashton Turner - 18.3 ov), 6-145 (Jhye Richardson - 18.5 ov)

In reply, the Sixers demolished the Scorchers bowling attack, getting over the line with 17 balls and 9 wickets to spare. James Vince hit a brilliant 98* off 53 balls (inc 14x4s and 1x6) and Josh Philippe 45 (28).

Fall of wickets: 1-92 (Josh Philippe - 8.5 ov)


After the match, Scorchers skipper Ashton Turner said;

“We had a golden opportunity to put ourselves in a really good position to win this tournament and it just feels like we’ve let it slip.

“That being said, we’ve got to get on a flight back home and dust ourselves off and be ready to go on Thursday.

“Coming into the season we didn’t know if we’d be able to play at home, to get a chance to play a final at home in Perth is a great opportunity for us.”


Playing XIs

Sydney Sixers - Josh Philippe(wk), James Vince, Daniel Hughes, Moises Henriques(c), Jordan Silk, Daniel Christian, Carlos Brathwaite, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Steve O'Keefe, Jackson Bird

Perth Scorchers - Jason Roy, Liam Livingstone, Colin Munro, Josh Inglis(wk), Mitchell Marsh, Ashton Turner(c), Aaron Hardie, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Fawad Ahmed


Match Details

Start Time: 08:15

Toss: Perth Scorchers won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Officials: Paul Wilson, Sam Nogajski, Shawn Craig, Gerard Abood, Robert Stratford

©Cricket World 2021