< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL10: Sydney Thunder thump Melbourne Stars at the Manuka Oval

Chris Green 4-34 for Sydney Thunder today
Chris Green 4-34 for Sydney Thunder today

Melbourne Stars were no match for the Sydney Thunder in their BBL10 encounter at the Manuka Oval today and lost by the biggest margin (in terms of runs scored) in their BBL history.


Match Summary

Sydney Thunder 219/7 (20)

Melbourne Stars 144 (19.5)

Result - Sydney Thunder won by 75 runs




Alex Hales blasted a quickfire 71 (29) to set the scene for a formidable total of 219/7 for the Thunder (3rd highest total in BBL history), who were asked to bat first by the Melbourne Stars. Callum Ferguson joined the run fest with 51 (33) and Adam Zampa 3-49 was the main wicket taker for the Stars.

Fall of wickets: 1-89 (Alex Hales - 7.2 ov), 2-128 (Usman Khawaja - 12.1 ov), 3-131 (Oliver Davies - 12.4 ov), 4-157 (Sam Billings - 15.1 ov), 5-179 (Daniel Sams - 17.3 ov), 6-196 (Callum Ferguson - 18.2 ov), 7-208 (Chris Green - 18.6 ov)


In reply, the Stars batsmen disappointed, under the pressure of the run rate, and were well beaten in the end by xx runs. Off – spinner, Chris Green (4-34), did the most damage with the ball for the Thunder, removing both openers - Marcus Stoinis and Andre Fletcher - and then later in the innings, taking the wickets of Nic Maddison and X-Factor man, Ben Dunk.

Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Marcus Stoinis - 3.6 ov), 2-47 (Andre Fletcher - 5.4 ov), 3-61 (Hilton Cartwright - 7.3 ov), 4-68 (Nicholas Pooran - 8.6 ov), 5-89 (Nic Maddinson - 12.4 ov), 6-93 (Glenn Maxwell - 13.4 ov), 7-114 (Ben Dunk - 14.5 ov), 8-124 (Liam Hatcher - 16.5 ov), 9-140 (Billy Stanlake - 19.3 ov), 10-144 (Adam Zampa - 19.5 ov)




Playing XIs


Sydney Thunder - Alex Hales, Usman Khawaja, Callum Ferguson(c), Oliver Davies, Sam Billings(wk), Ben Cutting, Daniel Sams, Chris Green, Adam Milne, Chris Tremain, Tanveer Sangha

Melbourne Stars - Marcus Stoinis, Andre Fletcher, Hilton Cartwright, Glenn Maxwell(c), Nicholas Pooran(wk), Nic Maddinson, Lance Morris, Liam Hatcher, Adam Zampa, Zahir Khan, Billy Stanlake, Ben Dunk


Match Details


Start Time: 08:15

Toss: Melbourne Stars won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Officials: Donovan Koch, Simon Lightbody, Nathan Johnstone, Andrew Crozier, Kent Hannam


©Cricket World 2020